Jump to content



Photo

Suffocation in combat time


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pearldrum1

pearldrum1

    Member

  • Members
  • 844 posts

Posted 18 August 2014 - 09:09 PM

The rules for suffocation say that a PC can hold their breath for a number of minutes equal to their toughness bonus. I assume this is for narrative time in situations that involve drowning or dangerous gasses and what not.

 

In an encounter I am running, our tech priest just got a Gloomhaunt beautifully attached to her head. Now, how do you handle suffocation in this situation? Her TB is 3 and 3 minutes in combat time is... 30 rounds? Yeah, that isn't happening.

 

Every round that the Gloomhaunt wins an opposed Strength test, it is going to deal 1d10+2, pen 2 damage on the Tech Priest. So, where does the suffocation factor come into play?

 

How would you, or how have you handled it in the past?



#2 Mikmaxs

Mikmaxs

    Member

  • Members
  • 122 posts

Posted 18 August 2014 - 09:31 PM

Keep reading. The TB in minutes only applies when not doing anything exhausting or strenuous.
  • pearldrum1 likes this

#3 Twillera

Twillera

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 18 August 2014 - 10:19 PM

As of the core rule book, If you are engaged in strenuous activity you get twice your T bonus rounds. You then take 1 wound and a level of fatigue at the end of each round after. (page 210). If she has T 3 then that would be 6 rounds. That is of course, assuming strenuous activity, although ripping that off your head probably counts.


  • pearldrum1 likes this

#4 pearldrum1

pearldrum1

    Member

  • Members
  • 844 posts

Posted 18 August 2014 - 10:31 PM

Keep reading. The TB in minutes only applies when not doing anything exhausting or strenuous.

 

Yep, I am dumb. I thought that example box was a break that went into the next special effect. My bad.



#5 pearldrum1

pearldrum1

    Member

  • Members
  • 844 posts

Posted 19 August 2014 - 06:34 AM

So then, a question regarding the Gloomhaunt in particular - if I am reading the Cranial Clasp ability correctly the Gloomhaunt (who has successfully grappled a PC) will deal 1d10+2 damage every round the grapple is maintained, right? I essentially don't have to roll anything other than opposed str tests each round and then roll and apply the damage, yes?






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS