Jump to content



Photo

equip when knocked out?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 nethog

nethog

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 03:44 PM

I was wondering if a hero can equip a new item when knocked out? The rules state that you can equip items before your actions. Being knocked out means you can either pass or stand up - so the rules imply it is ok to equip when knocked out - is this correct?



#2 Cursain

Cursain

    Member

  • Members
  • 133 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 04:21 PM

Please tell us why you're asking this question. What advantage would you gain by equipting an item before you stand up or are advised?

 

Cursain



#3 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 382 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 04:42 PM

As far as I understand, the answer is yes, the hero can change equipment during that part of his turn. A knocked out hero has a number of things explicitly barred to them: namely any action other than the stand up action or any abilities. Re-equipping is neither of these things, and in fact occurs before the phase of the turn in which the hero would use abilities or actions.



#4 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 482 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:14 PM

I am inclined to agree with whitewing, as you can also activate your familiar before (and only before) you stand up. However, note that heroes passing by CANNOT trade items with a knocked out hero token.

#5 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 674 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 05:38 PM

Since a hero, when knocked out, is taken off of the board and replaced with a hero token, there actually is NO hero on the board.

 

Now, if you want to equip something because you are going to use an action to stand up, I can understand this.  If you choose to pass and do nothing, I really don't see the value to equipping something, as I see no way it makes any difference if you do so, either on your turn or when it comes to the OL's turn.

 

If this isn't even your turn, there really is no way for you to obtain something to equip, as you aren't even on the board.



#6 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 385 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 06:43 PM

Probably wants to equip something that gives him more hp before he stands up so he gets to stand up for "free" :P i dont think thats gonna fly

#7 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 382 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 07:37 PM

Probably wants to equip something that gives him more hp before he stands up so he gets to stand up for "free" :P i dont think thats gonna fly

 

Or maybe wants to equip 2 shields, so that when he stands up, he's got 2 to use instead of 1 or 0, making it more likely he lives to take an actual turn.



#8 thedremak

thedremak

    Member

  • Members
  • 54 posts

Posted 07 August 2014 - 10:34 PM

I would say no.

#9 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 674 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 05:18 AM

 

Probably wants to equip something that gives him more hp before he stands up so he gets to stand up for "free" :P i dont think thats gonna fly

 

Or maybe wants to equip 2 shields, so that when he stands up, he's got 2 to use instead of 1 or 0, making it more likely he lives to take an actual turn.

 

 

This is what I was thinking.  At least, it makes the most sense.



#10 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 05:48 AM

He might have gotten an armour on the last turn, after the start of his activation, and been knocked out on the OL's turn. So on his new turn he wants to equip the armour, to provide him with more protection.

 

As was stated upthread, the "equip" item phase of your activation, come before the "take action" phase, and does not count as an action, so you can switch yourequipment, then Revive yourself.



#11 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 674 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 07:50 AM

All of the above is true, but only has value THAT TURN if the hero plans on standing up, or otherwise being revived.

 

I still can't think of a single reason that you would bother to equip something, if you were intending to pass (not stand up).



#12 nethog

nethog

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 08:32 AM

Thanks for the replies. The reason I wanted to equip an item (a shield in my case) when knocked out was so that when I revive I have more protection if attacked as was stated in one of the earlier replies. I think the rules suggest that it is ok to equip items when knocked out, but using common sense this does not make sense. Maybe the game designer can provide an official ruling in the faq?



#13 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 08:55 AM

Thanks for the replies. The reason I wanted to equip an item (a shield in my case) when knocked out was so that when I revive I have more protection if attacked as was stated in one of the earlier replies. I think the rules suggest that it is ok to equip items when knocked out, but using common sense this does not make sense. Maybe the game designer can provide an official ruling in the faq?

Although it doesn't make sense thematically, I think the rules and the dev rulings have been clear about following the turn order.



#14 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 385 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 09:59 AM

You should post this in as a question to FFG, the rules are not terribly clear on the matter.

#15 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 482 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 10:41 AM

I am pretty sure it would be allowed as other start of turn things like activating familiars are allowed (though hero abilities are inactive), but you should submit the question. It's either allowed whether you intend to stand up or not, or it is entirely forbidden. It makes no sense for intention to play a role, as you can't prove intention, and the hero "intending" to stand youbup could get web trapped.

#16 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 148 posts

Posted 08 August 2014 - 04:02 PM

Rules allow it. Thematically it works too.

 

Were you to stand up or be helped up, the entire "thematic fantasy time" your characters turn is in involves him getting to his feet and preparing for the the assault (the overlord's next turn, since his turn is now forfeit if he got up on his own). I could easily see him reaching for his shield as he comes up, looking at the monsters and readying himself.


Edited by Carbini, 08 August 2014 - 04:02 PM.


#17 nethog

nethog

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 August 2014 - 03:37 PM

Thanks Carbini - your explanation works for me.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS