Jump to content



Photo

Vilya to bring a hero back?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Catastrophic09

Catastrophic09

    Member

  • Members
  • 178 posts

Posted 06 August 2014 - 05:14 PM

So I was playing Dunland Trap yesterday with Celeborn, Elrond and Mirlonde. Mirlonde died early on from an In Need of Rest. I got to stage 2B where I shuffled all my discarded cards back into my draw deck. Now.. I had Vilya on Elrond and was thinking: what would happen if Mirlonde was the revealed card, would I be able to put her back into play?

 

Simply, can Vilya put a hero back into play after they got shuffled back into your deck?? I would say yes since there is nothing limiting you from putting into play that hero card through Vilya's ability. And if this is so, that could be pretty powerful if you use Will of the West or The White Counsil to then use Vilya and revive a hero but of course there is still a lot of chance and it would be rare to actually pull this off.

 

Sorry if this has already been discussed, I couldn't find a previous answer though.



#2 CJMatos

CJMatos

    Member

  • Members
  • 388 posts

Posted 06 August 2014 - 05:25 PM

Sorry but no...

 

From Core Rules:

Note that hero cards that are defeated are placed in their owner’s discard pile. When resolving effects that move cards from a player’s discard pile to his hand or deck, hero cards in the discard pile are ignored, as hero cards cannot move to a player’s hand or deck.

  • richsabre likes this

Carlos José Matos


#3 Catastrophic09

Catastrophic09

    Member

  • Members
  • 178 posts

Posted 06 August 2014 - 07:28 PM

Ah perfect, page 20, it seems that everything is in the FAQ these days that I forget to check the classic rule book, thanks!



#4 Mich the One

Mich the One

    Member

  • Members
  • 97 posts

Posted 14 August 2014 - 09:51 AM

So is there really any purpose for dead hero cards to go into the discard pile? I see no point.. and then you have to make an exception to certain card effects that deal with the discard pile. So is it just clumsy design or am I missing something? 



#5 13thcaesar

13thcaesar

    Member

  • Members
  • 139 posts

Posted 14 August 2014 - 10:02 AM

fortune-or-fate-core.jpg



#6 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,293 posts

Posted 14 August 2014 - 08:22 PM

Mich is right though, that card could just as easily say "choose a defeated hero."   At present in the game state there has never been a reason that they *need* to go into the discard pile.



#7 Jban

Jban

    Member

  • Members
  • 118 posts

Posted 02 September 2014 - 01:45 AM

Well there is a way of a card getting into a player's discard pile while never been defeated. 

ffg_lost-and-alone-fos.jpg                              ffg_elder-nameless-thing-fos.jpg

 

In the foundations of stone, you might get a hero attached to a Nameless. I don't know what happens to the X - values of the Nameless, but after he is defeated you're hero is a goner as well.

Greetz

PS: I'll make a topic for this perticular case


I'm not addicted to this game, I just play too often ...




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS