Jump to content



Photo

House Dayne Escort and Fortified Position


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 J_Roel

J_Roel

    Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 10:16 AM

If the House Dayne Escort is on the board with a Targaryen character and Fortified Position is flipped up, does the plot blank the text granting the immunity or does the immunity permeate the plot and prevent it from blanking through its immunity to the plot?


"...and Balerion... his fire was as black as his scales, his wings so vast that whole towns were swallowed up in their shadow when he passed over head."


#2 J_Roel

J_Roel

    Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 10:37 AM

For reference: Fortified Position and House Dayne Escort


"...and Balerion... his fire was as black as his scales, his wings so vast that whole towns were swallowed up in their shadow when he passed over head."


#3 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,769 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 11:43 AM

"Permeate" the plot? Not sure what that means.

 

In the order you specify, the "immune to plots" will stop Fortified Position from blanking the Escort. The immunity is active, so the character ignores the plot effect on it.

 

Just note that it doesn't work in reverse. If you have the Escort out, Fortified Position is flipped, and then you play a Targ character, the plot will not be "turned off" for the Escort. This is because the immunity hadn't been turned on and the card was blank when the Targ character was played, so the Escort didn't have access to the text that grants the immunity when the Targ card entered play.

 

So the order the cards are played in matters a lot for this scenario.


  • Grimwalker and J_Roel like this

#4 J_Roel

J_Roel

    Member

  • Members
  • 254 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 12:05 PM

I was just being creative with my language, lol; my question was whether or not the immunity already being active from before the plot was revealed would keep the Escort from being blanked by the plot ("permeate" through the plot). At the final melee table at Canadian Nationals over the weekend, Steven Simoni flipped FP and the Lannister player flipped Valar to try and wipe John Andrew's unkillable dragons, and Darknoj's Escort stuck around because of it's immunity. Thanks for the clarification!


"...and Balerion... his fire was as black as his scales, his wings so vast that whole towns were swallowed up in their shadow when he passed over head."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS