Jump to content



Photo

Rivendell Scout


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Olorin93

Olorin93

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:56 PM

In Secrecy mode, the cost to play this ally seems to drop to 0. Does this mean you don't need a resource match to use him? I don't think he is worth two resources and I don't play Leadership, but he fits the theme of a Secrecy deck I am considering.

Thread is of course open for general discussion on this card!

#2 Tracker1

Tracker1

    Member

  • Members
  • 665 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 02:30 PM

You'll need a resource match.
'At last' said Aragorn 'Here are the tracks that we seek!'

#3 Teamjimby

Teamjimby

    Member

  • Members
  • 157 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 02:53 PM

Yeah, you always need a resource match.  I've been enjoying him in a secrecy deck with Sam.  Between Bill the Pony, Rivendell Scout, and a Very Good Tale, you can get many allies in play without spending a single resource.



#4 Olorin93

Olorin93

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 03:34 PM

But why would I, rule-wise? I know Secrecy does not change the printed cost of the card, but if the actual cost is 0 and I don't need to spend any Leadership resources, why do I even need a Leadership hero? Is there a clear ruling on this?

#5 entMoot

entMoot

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 03:40 PM

The resource matching is covered on page 12 of the rulebook:

 

"Cards with a cost of zero do not require a resource to be spent in order to pay their cost, but they do require at least one hero under that player's control to have a resource icon that matches the card's sphere."


  • Ohnomycocoa and PsychoRocka like this

#6 Olorin93

Olorin93

    Member

  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 31 July 2014 - 02:00 AM

Thanks for replying! I'll try to figure out where I was told that 0-cost cards don't need a resource match.

#7 entMoot

entMoot

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 31 July 2014 - 08:14 AM

Maybe it was someone who wanted to play Daeron's Runes in every deck?  :)


  • Olorin93 likes this

#8 Distractionbeast

Distractionbeast

    Member

  • Members
  • 151 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 04:19 PM

FYI, zero-cost cards are a special case in that they ALWAYS need a sphere match (unless a card specifically bypasses it).  If you use A Good Harvest to use your resources to pay for a card of a named sphere, a zero-cost card will still need a sphere match, even if you name that sphere.



#9 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,199 posts

Posted 05 August 2014 - 08:39 PM

In other words, it's been previously ruled that you cannot use A Good Harvest to enable a play of 0-cost cards.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS