Base Building

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 greengamer19

greengamer19

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 06:30 PM

So I've been running a game for nearly 2 months now and the group wants a more stable home base than their ship. Rather than giving them a pre-built base, I want to give them the location of a sizeable asteroid that they can use to build a base. Unfortunately, I haven't found anything related to the cost of building such things. I've considered making liberal use of obligation to help them get the base up and running but I have a feeling they will do what they can to avoid that so I need to have some sort of pricing in mind before I start. Any recommendations for material to look at or should I just start making numbers up (using ship costs as a guide)?

• kaosoe likes this

#2 2P51

2P51

• Members
  • 3,551 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 06:34 PM

To me it's a ship with no hyperdrive, so pick a silhouette and wing it.

• awayputurwpn likes this

My group's Obsidian Portal campaign site: It's All in the Trigger Squeeze

#3 Naboooki

Naboooki

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 06:42 PM

I would say plan it in stages, and make it a sizable Investment so they have to work towards a final goal. I'm not sure how much free flowing cash your players have on hand, but make just out of their reach. This will make them search for work in order to acquire the needed resources.

Perhaps even planning a mini-campaign to help them work towards their goal.

Part one can consist of them acquiring land (either on a planet or asteroid, or even a space station). Either make it expensive or saddle them with a ton of obligation.

Part two could be them retrofitting their lair to suit their needs. Perhaps they want a particular set of facilities, they require time and effort to build/setup/acquire.