New to AH and have all the expansions.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Korlon

Korlon

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 04:44 PM

So I got hooked onto this game just a few weeks ago and have played it almost every other day both with friends and solo. I loved it so much that I searched for the expansions, found a great deal and got them all... and now I am overwhelmed by what to do with them.

As I'm still new to AH I haven't even opened the boxes yet as I don't want to kill my brain with all the new rules and gameplay options but I was wondering can I combine the investigators and ancient ones into the base game without adding the other parts of the game or are they specific to the story/game of the expansions? Is there anything in the expansions I can combine with the base game that won't dilute the game or make it overly complicated? I still feel I'm a few games away from being able to play without referring to the rule book.

Any advice/comments would be appreciated.

#2 Tibs

Tibs

• Members
  • 4,593 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 06:08 PM

1) Yes, absolutely. FFG brilliantly designed all the AOs and Investigators to be usable irrespective of expansions, even the ones they come in. The one sort-of exception is Silas Marsh, who gains an ability when in aquatic spaces (the vast majority are on expansion boards) but he also suffers a penalty when drawing Innsmouth Look cards (which are only used in expansions). This is again brilliant because those two contrary effects are hand-in-hand so in a no-expansion game he'll have neither a dominant power nor dominant penalty.

2) I love to shamelessly plug this because I honestly think it helps, but I uploaded a file to BGG that prepares ten "scenarios" that introduces you to each expansion. It sounds like it would be perfect for you:

http://boardgamegeek...nsion-scenarios

• The Professor and Wolfpack48 like this

#3 booored

booored

• Members
  • 2,002 posts