Jump to content



Photo

Question About Bol'Goreth's Affliction Aura


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Extortion

Extortion

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 04:49 PM

This may have already been addressed, but I didn't see it in the FAQ so I figured I would make a post about it. The wording on this particular plot card seems unusually vague to me. For starters, it starts out with "Use this card..." as opposed to the usual "Exhaust this card..." I don't think I've seen a single other plot card use the former instead of the latter. So my questions are thus:

 

Does the cards effect only last for the first round of an encounter or does it last until the chosen monster is defeated or the encounter ends? 

 

Since the card apparently doesn't get exhausted, if i have, say, 6 threat tokens when starting an encounter, could I use the card multiple times to grant its effect to up to 3 monsters?

 

Edit to add the text of the card:

 

Use this card after setup of an encounter to choose a monster. Each hero that starts his turn within 5 spaces of that monster is Diseased. Place a threat token on the monster's base as a reminder. 


Edited by Extortion, 28 July 2014 - 10:33 PM.


#2 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 639 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:36 AM

- It last until the monster is killed

 

- Yes you can. Even if spending 6 threat is really not a good idea IMO. You're sure to give at least 1 action


Edited by rugal, 28 July 2014 - 03:37 AM.


#3 Extortion

Extortion

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 10:58 AM

Thanks for the reply. My group picked their heroes for a new campaign we're starting this week and I noticed they were very susceptible to poison and disease stat-wise so I thought Bol goreth might be a good plot deck choice. If affliction aura only worked for the opening round I don't think I would have bothered with it.

#4 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 697 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 07:44 PM

I don't know about other plot cards with "Use this card," but there are certain hero skills with that wording (see: Conjurer.) Use is distinct from exhaust in that you may use it as many times as you can satisfy the requirements, unless that would violate some other rule.



#5 Extortion

Extortion

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 10:27 PM

I don't know about other plot cards with "Use this card," but there are certain hero skills with that wording (see: Conjurer.) Use is distinct from exhaust in that you may use it as many times as you can satisfy the requirements, unless that would violate some other rule.

 

I can't say for sure either, but I feel like the vast majority of them use "Exhaust this card..." to use them. My main problem with the card is that I feel its particularly vague on how it works. There's no definitive text on how long the effect lasts for which I know is an argument waiting to happen with the group I play with. I hope this card ends up in the FAQ 



#6 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 697 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 06:46 AM

 

I don't know about other plot cards with "Use this card," but there are certain hero skills with that wording (see: Conjurer.) Use is distinct from exhaust in that you may use it as many times as you can satisfy the requirements, unless that would violate some other rule.

 

I can't say for sure either, but I feel like the vast majority of them use "Exhaust this card..." to use them. My main problem with the card is that I feel its particularly vague on how it works. There's no definitive text on how long the effect lasts for which I know is an argument waiting to happen with the group I play with. I hope this card ends up in the FAQ 

 

Best way to initiate that process is to submit it as a question via the link below.

 

"Using" a card functions exactly the same way as "exhausting" a card, you just don't tap it. Aflliction Aura states to use it after setup of an encounter and to choose a monster. Every hero starting  his turn adjacent to that monster (for the duration of the encounter) is diseased. The card ceases to be effective at the end of the encounter. If you wanted to, you could choose X monsters for this card to apply to, you'd just have to pay 2X threat to trigger it.


Edited by Zaltyre, 29 July 2014 - 06:51 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS