Jump to content



Photo

Can you parry a psychic blade?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 ThenDoctor

ThenDoctor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,420 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 04:14 PM

I understand that you cannot parry with a psychic blade, but can enemies parry against a blade's attack? Has anyone sent that question in before I end up doing it?

 

If so, what happens when it's parried by a power sword? If it's destroyed how would you rule that? I'd say the psyker can't manifest it again for 1d10-WP rounds.


I've made an expanded Divination table for Dark Heresy Second Edition. Find it here: 

 

http://community.fan...general-thread/


#2 ColArana

ColArana

    Member

  • Members
  • 290 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 05:22 PM

There is no rule stating you CAN'T parry a Psychic Blade, even with a non-Power Weapon, so I'd say it should be fine.

 

Power Sword rulings are less clearcut though, I agree, that's worth a clarification.


Edited by ColArana, 27 July 2014 - 05:22 PM.


#3 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 07:04 AM

As ColArana said, there is nothing saying that you can't Parry a Psychic Blade, so it should work.

RAW doesn't mention anything specific in terms of being parried by a Power Sword, so by RAW, I would surmise that it would work as normal.

However, based on the fact that this makes no sense whatsoever and that later versions of Psychic Blade (or similar) can both parry and be parried, as well as being immune to the Power-Quality effect, I would just go with that and DH RAW be damned.


  • Simsum likes this

Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#4 ThenDoctor

ThenDoctor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,420 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 04:38 PM

I sent it in as a question, just to see what would be sent back, but likely I'll go with what is apparently the rules on such things these days.


I've made an expanded Divination table for Dark Heresy Second Edition. Find it here: 

 

http://community.fan...general-thread/


#5 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,742 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 01:41 AM

According to the author of the rules, you can't parry this.

 

In an old post he discusses various aspects of the Psyker rules. Mind you, FFG don't seem to agree on all these...


  • Fgdsfg likes this

Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#6 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 02:39 AM

According to the author of the rules, you can't parry this.
 
In an old post he discusses various aspects of the Psyker rules. Mind you, FFG don't seem to agree on all these...

I guess I never thought of it like that. I always envisioned a Psychic Blade to either be a solid, shimmering blade of force, or a swirling, thick needle of psychic energy.

I never thought of the Psychic Blade as something completely immaterial and invisible.

Huh. I guess it makes perfect sense to not be able to parry something you can't see. On the other hand, you can parry unarmed attacks, and afaik, the Psychic Blade still needs to be directed from the hand(s), so.. I dunno.

Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#7 Darth Smeg

Darth Smeg

    Lord Nitpicker

  • Members
  • 1,742 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 02:52 AM

It does not require a hand, according to Mr. Luikart, and the rules:

Core rulebook, p177, under description of Psychic Blade:
"Once manifested, treat the Psychic Blade as a sword wielded by the Psyker (though it does not require a free hand) that requires no Melee Training to use, but cannot Parry."

 

However, others disagree, so this is a case of "whatever floats your boat"


Edited by Darth Smeg, 30 July 2014 - 02:54 AM.

  • Fgdsfg likes this

Tarald - The Dark Lord of Smeg

You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on

 

My House Rules for using Only War (and more) for Dark Heresy games


#8 segara82

segara82

    Member

  • Members
  • 564 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 05:12 AM

Meh, my Malefic Adept rolls bad enough as it is so i let him take advantage of all Talents that help with blades including Blade Master. As a drawback it can be parried.
For me it still is Warp Energie manifested as a blade that can interact with the physical realm and therefore influenced by it, seethrough but still visible.


Edited by segara82, 30 July 2014 - 02:07 PM.

Courage is the mastery of fear - not the absence of fear


#9 ThenDoctor

ThenDoctor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,420 posts

Posted 30 July 2014 - 12:10 PM

Mr. Tim Huckelbery replied to my question. He stated that it can be parried against, but it is immune to the Power Field Quality because it being "destroyed" (which it technically would in the mechanics) doesn't fit the feel they were going for.


  • ColArana likes this

I've made an expanded Divination table for Dark Heresy Second Edition. Find it here: 

 

http://community.fan...general-thread/





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS