Jump to content



Photo

Turned Around


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 920 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 09:19 AM

This card:

 

Turned-Around.png

 

Can you chose? It has the word 'either' at first of the sentence....

 

In three trials, when the 3 guardians are in game: must you remove 1 time counter from each guardian, or can you chose one of them?


A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,835 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 11:59 AM

i seem to remember cards worded like this being ruled that this wasnt a choice, it was either you must do this, or if you cannot, then you must do this

 

cant find a reference though. so id wait for confirmation or otherwise


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,342 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 03:40 PM

Yeah, I remember a big discussion but can't remember how it turned out.

 

If not intended as a choice, you could easily write this card and avoid use of the word "either."  "Remove 1 time counter blah blah.  If no time counter was removed, return the active location.. etc."  

 

Intentionally including the word "either," to me, makes it look like the designers intended this as a choice.



#4 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,342 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 03:46 PM

Here it is, in the FAQ:

 

(1.44) “Must X or Y” vs “must either X or Y”

If a card instructs a player to perform one task or
perform a second task using the structure “... must X or
Y...” then the player must attempt to perform the first
task, and performs the second task instead only if the
first task cannot be performed.
If a card instead uses the structure “... must either X or
Y...” then the player may choose which task to perform,
although one of them must be performed in full, if able.
--------------------------------------------------
 
The card "Turned Around" does not use the word "must," but it doesn't cause any problem here.  The FAQ makes it clear that the word "either" is the word that confers a choice, so you've got a choice in "Turned Around." 


#5 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 920 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 03:51 PM

Ok, thanks.

 

 

The another question is: if i chose the removing 1 time counter option, must i remove 1 of each enemy in play or only one (the one i chose)?


Edited by Mndela, 27 July 2014 - 03:51 PM.

A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#6 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,342 posts

Posted 27 July 2014 - 03:55 PM

It is "a card in play," so it's only one card, of your choosing.



#7 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 491 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:22 PM

I also asked the question to Caleb a while back, he confirmed that "must" is not needed, grandspleen is correct.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS