Jump to content



Photo

Three Trials Guardians


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Narsil0420

Narsil0420

    Member

  • Members
  • 667 posts

Posted 25 July 2014 - 09:16 PM

Hey folks,

 

Wanted to throw out the question of, 

Because of the effect on the Quest cards, "The first player engages the guardian" 

is that a constant effect that prevents a solo player from ever disengaging the guardians?

In other words, if you sent them to the staging area would they just automatically re-engage you?

 

 



#2 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 924 posts

Posted 26 July 2014 - 06:46 AM

I guess so. Let's see what other people says


A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#3 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 493 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 03:27 PM

We asked Caleb what would happen if a "engage the first player" constant effect occures while a not-first player play hammer stroke, when the quest reads "when an enemy engage a player" and he answered that it would trigger both engagement, well, getting hard to explain so I'll just quote him :

 

If a player used a card effect to engage Chief Turch, he would remove 1 time counter for that engagement. Then, Chief Turch’s passive effect would immediately cause him to engage the first player again, removing another time counter for a total of 2 time counters removed.



#4 Mndela

Mndela

    Member

  • Members
  • 924 posts

Posted 28 July 2014 - 04:28 PM

Yeah, thanks for the answer. Good to know...


A wizard is never late..., he arrives precisely when it is the last round


#5 Narsil0420

Narsil0420

    Member

  • Members
  • 667 posts

Posted 06 August 2014 - 11:18 AM

Thanks alogos!



#6 oldoly

oldoly

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 16 August 2014 - 11:56 PM

Similar question to above but different stage 2a

In the stage 2a "trials of intuition" the card reads "each guardian enemy engages the first player. In a multi player game would this mean the guardian remains engaged with that player? Or does the guardian then engage the new first player at the start of the next round? I just want to make sure I don't need to add the guardian back to the staging area or switch endgame ya with different players. Thank you!

#7 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 493 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 02:13 AM

It's a passive effect, so it happens everytime it is possible, right from when the text is in play. So it will engage the new first player when the token is given to a new player.

If you use a card to engage him, it will engage you, but if you are not the first player, it will re-engage the first player without any time window for an action but you can proc sam or pippin response this way.



#8 oldoly

oldoly

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 08:28 AM

It's a passive effect, so it happens everytime it is possible, right from when the text is in play. So it will engage the new first player when the token is given to a new player.
If you use a card to engage him, it will engage you, but if you are not the first player, it will re-engage the first player without any time window for an action but you can proc sam or pippin response this way.

Thank you! My question came about because I am using Sam and I was not sure if I was able to trigger his response but it makes sense now because the guardian would move to the "new" first player during engagement phase...just to be clear, we have to exhaust a hero to claim a key right? I noticed the keys don't have the guarded keyword on them but some do attach to a location or guardian through the quest text. At that point we have to damage the hero or explore the location to have the opportunity to claim it?

Thanks for your help, sorry for all the questions :)

Edited by oldoly, 17 August 2014 - 09:36 AM.


#9 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 493 posts

Posted 17 August 2014 - 12:52 PM

I don't remember seing anything to claim the keys, when they are unatached, they are automatically claimed and attached to one of your hero if I remember correctly.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS