Jump to content



Photo

Sneak Attack and Gandalf


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jimjim19681968

jimjim19681968

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 08:47 AM

I am playing a deck from blog Beorn's Path. It's great and will teach me heaps.

 

However, I was just presented with an opportunity that seemed to good to be true;

 

Playing Sneak Attack then Gandalf.

 

Surely this cannot ?

 

Can I play the sneak attack card for 1 resouce token in exchange for Gandalf, who can reduce my threat by 5 and kill a monster outright before retiring anyway?

 

And when he retires, does he go back to my hand (sneak attack) or to the discard pile?

 

If you can answer me this, I'll be seriously thankful.

 

JJ



#2 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,813 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 08:52 AM

yes, this is one of the most powerful combos in the game, and must loved by players :)

 

and yes, even better, he goes back to hand


Edited by richsabre, 24 July 2014 - 08:52 AM.

My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#3 jimjim19681968

jimjim19681968

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:09 AM

Wow! That is fantastic, isn't it?

 

This deck is awesome too.

 

Thnak you, kind sage.

 

JJ


  • richsabre likes this

#4 richsabre

richsabre

    Tea Drinker of the West

  • Members
  • 4,813 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 09:11 AM

very welcome! :D and yes! it is !! :)


My Deviantart profile. Infrared Art http://richsabre.deviantart.com/

My Portfolio http://richardbyers.portfoliobox.me/

 


#5 Rashley

Rashley

    Member

  • Members
  • 252 posts

Posted 24 July 2014 - 04:04 PM

Remember that when Gandalf enters play, he only does ONE of his special actions.  You cannot reduce threat and put 4 damage on an enemy.  He can still Quest, Defend or Attack depending on the phase.  Still a great combo!!  Cheers!



#6 robc73usa

robc73usa

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 11 August 2014 - 07:33 AM

so Gandalf only returns to ur hand if u use sneak attack?



#7 alogos

alogos

    Member

  • Members
  • 423 posts

Posted 11 August 2014 - 07:36 AM

Sneak Attack text make him returning to your hand if it is still in play.

 

There are others few effects to return an ally to your hand, Born Aloft might be the only one working on Gandalf.



#8 JasonRed3

JasonRed3

    Member

  • Members
  • 60 posts

Posted 03 September 2014 - 05:50 PM

Remember also that he only lasts for the PHASE with Sneak Attack.  If you play him during the Quest Phase, he won't be around for Combat unless you have another Sneak Attack :)


  • PsychoRocka likes this

X-Wing forces:  

Light Side:​

Spoiler

Dark Side:​

Spoiler

LotR LCG Player, Blood Bowl Team Manager Fan





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS