Help a newb make a useful character!

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Rebelarch86

Rebelarch86

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 09:15 PM

Hi all. I don't need an uber munchkin character. But I have a habit of being the guy that makes a horse based character to spend the game in a dungeon. Since I'm completely new to this game system what is consider good / status quo? Average for stats? Good skill rank? Talents and skills that get used most?
Thank you.

#2 Satchmo72

Satchmo72

• Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 09:54 PM

Hello Rebelarch,

Sounds like you are coming over from a d20 system.  You are in good company as most of us have been there.  Before we can really help there are a few questions we need answered:

1) What type of game will you be playing?

2) How are the other players built?  If they all want to shoot everything in sight building a thief or a face might be limiting to some degree.

3) This is the most important question.  What do you want your place in the party to be?

The first thing to consider when building a character is that there are no levels.  Second, regardless of what class you take you can expand into just about any field you would like to.

When building your initial character you will want to focus on you characteristics/stat first and foremost.  High agility will mean you can shoot most guns and drive most vehicles pretty well.  A high intelligence means you will be good with knowledge skills, mechanics (more useful than you would think), medicine, and computers.  Like most other games you have likely played Perception is one of the most used skills in the game.  Perception, deception, and a few other useful skills are based off of cunning (this would be good for a rogue type character).  Brawn has two functions it increases your soak and lets you hit things.

Dice rolling:

1 dice = let someone else do it your going to mess it up.