Jump to content



Photo

Unopposed Bonus


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Kcall07

Kcall07

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 01:50 AM

I'm new to the game and have a basic question about when the unopposed bonus is decided.

If all defenders are killed by the results of a successful military challenge is unopposed awarded? Or is it only unopposed if no defenders (or 0 STR) are declared initially?

Many thanks
No man knows what the new day will bring

#2 Underworld40k

Underworld40k

    Member

  • Members
  • 352 posts

Posted 23 July 2014 - 01:59 AM

Unopposed power is awarded when the total strength of the defender is 0, so it requires that either no characters are present or at challenge resolution (which happens BEFORE killed characters are removed form play) that all defending characters have a combined strength of 0.

Its worth having a quick look  at the FAQ timing structures for the exact detail and process, but short answer is no, if the defending characters are killed for military claim the challenge was still opposed.
 



#3 Kcall07

Kcall07

    Member

  • Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 25 July 2014 - 12:30 PM

Thank you for the quick answer.

As an extension of this, does the same apply if a character is killed by a player action in one of the steps leading up to challenge resolution?
No man knows what the new day will bring

#4 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,725 posts

Posted 25 July 2014 - 12:57 PM

As an extension of this, does the same apply if a character is killed by a player action in one of the steps leading up to challenge resolution?

 

No. The situations are different. Here is the (overly) detailed explanation.

 

As a quick, greatly simplified reference, challenges work as follows:

 

1. Attacking player announces who they are attacking, what type of challenge, and chooses/kneels attacking characters.

2. Starting with the First Player (not necessarily the attacking player...), players take turns triggering "Any Phase" and/or "Challenges" actions.

3. Attacking player assigns stealth targets, then defending player chooses/kneels defending characters.

4. Starting with the First Player (not necessarily the attacking player...), players take turns triggering "Any Phase" and/or "Challenges" actions.  

5. Challenge is resolved.

 

#5 there breaks down further like this:

5A. Determine winner by comparing attacking and defending STR. <-- All key questions about "unopposed" happen here.

5B. Settle claim effects (if attacker wins).

5C. Award unopposed (if applicable).

5D. Award Renown (if applicable).

5E. Resolve Deadly (if applicable).

5F. Passives to anything in 5A-5E.

5G. Responses to anything in 5A-5F.

 

The only thing that matters for "unopposed" is whether or not the defending player counts 0 STR in #5A. If they do, the attacker gets the power in #5C. If not, they don't. That's all that goes into determining unopposed. The number of participating defenders ends up not meaning anything for unopposed - only whether or not the defending player counts 0 STR in #5A.

 

So, in your original question, you were essentially asking if it matters for determining "unopposed" if all the defending characters die in #5B. The answer is, "No, it doesn't matter, because everything for unopposed has already been determined."

 

Your follow-up question essentially asks if it matters for determining "unopposed" if all the defending characters are killed in #2 and/or #4. The answer there is, "Yes, assuming nothing else happens to allow the defending player to count more than 0 STR in #5A."

 

 

So, that's a lot of information, but it hopefully gives you the framework by which all situations involving "unopposed" can be determined.


Edited by ktom, 25 July 2014 - 12:59 PM.


#5 Khudzlin

Khudzlin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,433 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 02:27 AM

For unopposed to happen, the attacker must also win in 5A, which requires at least 1 STR (a tie with 0 STR on each side results in no winner for the challenge).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS