X-wing based space combat?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 durek_7

durek_7

• Members
  • 64 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 04:10 AM

Ive been doing some more research and reviews.
One thing ive come accross is criticism of the space combat aspects of the game.
Is there any way to incorporate Xwing mini game in this system?

Edited by durek_7, 22 July 2014 - 04:47 AM.

#2 Naglareph

Naglareph

• Members
  • 197 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 04:18 AM

I'm not an expert player of X-Wing, but my answer would be quite simple.

No you can't, it's not meant for it and it would be a pain to change everything from one game to the other.

But you could create your own "mini game", or adapt the EOTE space systeme to the X-Wing game.

I would do that quite simply, juste use the figurines for a visual representation, and then entirely build the space fight around what happens in the game. If a unit can move a couple times during it's round juste move the figurine twice one the board. it would work great for narrative purposes, and just thinking about it, makes me think of a couple ideas to set up space games.

En of the line, just a simple, and straightforward visual representation of what's happening in the EotE game through the use of the figurines. And keep in mind that you should be as narrative as possible.

May the Force be with you.

I II III IV V VI

#3 Jordan Peacock

Jordan Peacock

• Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 04:58 AM

My answer is a bit nuanced.  Yes you could, with some work, but it's not meant for it, and it requires a lot of GM "winging it" and a bit of player trust.

(Based on personal experience: If the players get to spend the first few "hybrid combat" scenarios kicking tail and taking names, they're far more tolerant of the GM chopping up the rules something awful than if their first experience with this is that it goes from "We were doing so well using the Edge of Empire rules" to "We are getting CREAMED!")