Jump to content



Photo

'while this card is exhausted' - compulsory refresh question


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 zooeyglass

zooeyglass

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 07:15 AM

Hello all,

 

I've had a look for an answer to this; perhaps I've missed it though, and I don't have my rulebook to hand. 

 

There are plenty of class cards that have the conditional phrase 'While this card is exhausted...' which provides some bonus. For instance, the 'Dungeoneer' card for the Treasure Hunter is an action (arrow) and exhausting the card to perform a search, and while the card is exhausted, the treasure hunter can perform one attack during his turn without using an action. Another example is the Spiritseeker's card 'Cloud of Mist' - while exhausted any attack that targets a space within three spaces of the spiritseeker must spend a surge just to hit.

 

My understanding is that during the refresh phase of each hero's turn, all cards are automatically refreshed. I imagine some people would prefer that some cards can be kept exhausted - there are few instances that you wouldn't want an additional attack in the case of the treasure hunter, or for monsters to spend surges just to hit any hero near the spiritseeker or the spiritseeker herself - but my understanding is that that isn't possible.

 

Can someone tell me if I've missed something? Can you leave powerful cards exhausted like this for as long as the hero chooses? Many thanks...



#2 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 928 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 07:44 AM

Descent Second Edition, Base Rules, Page 7, Hero Turn Summary:

 

Start of Turn: During this step, any effects affecting the active hero
that last “until the start of your next turn” end. Also, the hero player
may use any abilities that trigger “at the start of your turn.” Then
the hero player refreshes his exhausted cards (see “Exhausting and
Refreshing Cards” on page 8).
 
Descent Second Edition, Base Rules, Page 8, Exhausting and Refreshing Cards:
 
Some cards require the player to exhaust them when they are
used. When a player exhausts a card, he simply rotates the card
sideways to indicate that he has used its ability. At the start
of a player’s turn, he refreshes all of his exhausted cards by
returning them to their upright position. A player cannot use
an exhausted card until it is refreshed.
 
Refreshing is not a choice.  It is done at the start of every Hero's turn.

  • stegocent and zooeyglass like this

#3 zooeyglass

zooeyglass

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 07:50 AM

Thank you - that's just the kind of unequivocal clarification I respect. 



#4 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 928 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 08:02 AM

Thank you - that's just the kind of unequivocal clarification I respect. 

 

To be honest, it's nice when you can find such a definitive answer.  :D

 

Sometimes, I think FFG enjoys testing our gaming mettle by making things far murkier ... of course, that in turn allows for many an FAQ, so perhaps it keeps someone employed !  :P


  • stegocent, BenOverlord and Ravaga like this

#5 mjfilla

mjfilla

    Member

  • Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 09:17 AM

There are overlord plot cards that stayed refreshed for an entire encounter (on until some other criteria are met), but they say so right on the card. I would assume that any player cards that stay refreshed (if there are any or if they create any in the future) would also state that on the card itself.



#6 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 928 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 09:58 AM

There are overlord plot cards that stayed refreshed for an entire encounter (on until some other criteria are met), but they say so right on the card. I would assume that any player cards that stay refreshed (if there are any or if they create any in the future) would also state that on the card itself.

 

This is a good point, and also why FFG always says:

 

Card Text > Skills/Abilities > Quest Rules > Expansion Rules > Base Game Rules


  • stegocent likes this

#7 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 120 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 12:16 PM

This question came up in our game as well, since we have the geomancer in play.

 

The geomancer's stones don't get attacks unless his base skill his exhausted (and even then, only one of them gets an attack) which brought up the issue, if the Geomancer is fully tapped out of stamina, could he leave his skill exhausted, to allow his stone an attack.

 

Alas, it was not to be. :(



#8 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 716 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 12:22 PM

This question came up in our game as well, since we have the geomancer in play.

 

The geomancer's stones don't get attacks unless his base skill his exhausted (and even then, only one of them gets an attack) which brought up the issue, if the Geomancer is fully tapped out of stamina, could he leave his skill exhausted, to allow his stone an attack.

 

Alas, it was not to be. :(

However, it's worth noting that you MAY exhaust terracall, pay the cost, but choose not to summon a stone. At that point you're just paying fatigue to trade one of your attacks for a stone attack.



#9 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 155 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 01:04 PM

It's worth noting though that when at your stone limit, you can still drop a new one and blow an old one up(its in the LotW rule book). So if you had the stamina, you could re-position a new stone, or put a stone right where one already was, then activate after your hero turn, as long as you are in range to drop the stone.



#10 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 120 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 01:18 PM

The times this came up were very specific: One was lack of stamina, so the Geomancer could not pay the price of a new summons, the other was when the geomancer was downed, but the answer to this one was to let the stone act "first" and then take the geomancer's turn to 'stand up'.


Edited by Alarmed, 29 July 2014 - 01:19 PM.


#11 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 928 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 05:08 PM

As OL, I simply hide all the stones, the reanimate, etc.  Then, I tell the heroes that proxies aren't permitted, and I guess you are out of luck.   :P

 

G-d damn "familiars".  :D

 

Of course, I won't ever run out of Raven Flock(s).  In fact, I may just have to make extras.   :ph34r:



#12 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 155 posts

Posted 29 July 2014 - 06:38 PM

I've screwed with massive monster movement sooo much with geomancer...

NICE TRY SHADOW DRAGON!






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS