Jump to content



Photo

Question regarding Rylan's "Influence"


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Enfeathered

Enfeathered

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 01:34 AM

Hiya!

 

I have a question regarding the "Influence" ability of the Rylan Olliven lieutenant/agent. The wording reads:

 

Choose 1 figure adjacent to Rylan Olliven. That figure immediately performs one action of the controlling player's choice. Limit once per round.

 

Now I interpet this as Rylan basically being able to trade one of his actions to another adjacent figure, most likely to another monster.
 
The other interpretation that my gaming group made is that it basically works like dark charm and it gives you the ability to control an adjacent figure, I don't think this matches up with the wording, but it matches up more with the "style" of the character since Rylan is supposed to be a "corrupting politican" character, IIRC his plot deck is even called corrupting influence.
 
So, if anyone have any thoughts on how this works that would be nice.

Edited by Enfeathered, 21 July 2014 - 01:35 AM.


#2 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 615 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 03:59 AM

No, rylan gives an action to a figure, and the controlers figure then choose what to do.

 

For exemple, if Rylan gives an action to a hero, that hero may do the action he chooses

 

if Rylan gives an action to a monster, this monster may do the action he wants (an attack, a sweep, whatever the overlord chooses)

 

Why wording like this ? Simple. Because in some quests in Nerekhall, Rylan is under the control of the heroes



#3 Enfeathered

Enfeathered

    Member

  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 07:16 AM

No, rylan gives an action to a figure, and the controlers figure then choose what to do.

 

For exemple, if Rylan gives an action to a hero, that hero may do the action he chooses

 

if Rylan gives an action to a monster, this monster may do the action he wants (an attack, a sweep, whatever the overlord chooses)

 

Why wording like this ? Simple. Because in some quests in Nerekhall, Rylan is under the control of the heroes

 

 

Right, but it still can't be used to grant a monster an extra attack unlike Frenzy can it?



#4 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 615 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 09:15 AM

As I said, yes, you can.

 

You can have extra action, or do another sweep with giants, or any action possible in fact



#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 21 July 2014 - 03:01 PM

Right, but it still can't be used to grant a monster an extra attack unlike Frenzy can it?

 

You can have extra action, or do another sweep with giants, or any action possible in fact

 

Here's the reasoning: The rule you're thinking of where Monsters can only attack once is limited to "once during its activation" (See p. 11 of the core rulebook). Since this attack is happening on a different activation (Rylan's), it is no longer limited by this restriction.



#6 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 387 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 12:48 PM

If Rylan allows another monster to attack then does he forfeit his combat for that turn ?

 

am thinking not, but i am interested in hearing what you guys think.

The reason why i think he is not because its not Rylan himself is not using a combat action.



#7 rugal

rugal

    Member

  • Members
  • 615 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 12:58 PM

No, he doesn't. Influence is really a cool skill, and a good agent. A good point since most of them are not powerfull enough to rely on



#8 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 386 posts

Posted 22 July 2014 - 01:40 PM

Using influence uses an action but does not replace his attack. He can attack and use influence in the same turn.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS