Photo

Buying my first expansion....what to get?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 jimjim19681968

jimjim19681968

• Members
  • 87 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 06:09 PM

Hi,

I just started playing and after having watched the excellent "watch it played" videos, enjoyed my first couple of games.

I can see I am going to love it and I want to expand, but I've joined late, I notice many sets are currently out of print, where should I start? Should I get the deluxe additions first or go straight to the adventure packs?

Thanks in advance.

JJ

#2 Khamul The Easterling

Khamul The Easterling

• Members
  • 625 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 08:52 PM

Hi Jim,

Glad you are enjoying the game.  :) I would recommend getting one cycle at a time.  While buying the Saga expansions whenever you want.  

Having played all the quests and used the players cards in each of the packs, this is how I would buy if I were to recollect LOTR LCG:

1. One Core set

2. The full Mirkwood cycle (all six adventure packs)

3. Khazad Dum deluxe expansion.  

The above will keep you busy for a while.  Considering you already have the core set, you can pick up the above for just under $100 at Coolstuff Inc. Here is the link https://www.coolstuffinc.com/  They have everything released for Lotr lcg in stock except for the Stewards fear AP.  After that I would continue like this:

4. Full Dwarrowdelf Cycle (all six adventure packs)

5. Saga Expansions (The Hobbit: over Hill and Under Hill, The Hobbit: On the Doorstep, Black Riders)

6. The Massing at Osgiliath, The Battle of Lake Town, The Stone of Erech  

7. Heirs of Numenor Deluxe Expansion

8. The Full Against the Shadow Cycle 

9. The Voice of Isengard

10. The Ring Maker cycle 

11. Nightmare Decks