Jump to content



Photo

Assist Manoeuver Question


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 RebelDave

RebelDave

    Member

  • Members
  • 147 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:36 PM

The book states that a player using the Assist Manoeuver grants a Blue die to an ENGAGED character.

 

Does that mean a character engaged in Melee? Or can this provide a boost to ranged attacks?



#2 Liloki

Liloki

    Member

  • Members
  • 184 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:47 PM

It means you need to be within Engaged range of the character being assisted in order to provide assistance.

 

While generally meant for the vast multitude of other far more interesting things you can do, you could conceivably use this for boosting ranged attacks given plausible narrative explanation (which shouldn't be hard).


Episode recaps of my ongoing EotE game: https://plus.google....771928262/posts


#3 awayputurwpn

awayputurwpn

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,570 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:53 PM

Yep, in other words, "a character can assist an ally with whom he is engaged." But that sounds weird. Hence, the wording of the rules.


  • derroehre and kaosoe like this

#4 2P51

2P51

    Member

  • Members
  • 3,551 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:53 PM

The book states that a player using the Assist Manoeuver grants a Blue die to an ENGAGED character.

 

Does that mean a character engaged in Melee? Or can this provide a boost to ranged attacks?

Everything.  You're holding the light while whomever...picks the lock, disarms the bomb, fixes the broken terminal, etc.  You're holding the IV bag while Doc patches up someone shot up, etc.


  • awayputurwpn, kaosoe, Ranger1060 and 1 other like this

My group's Obsidian Portal campaign site: It's All in the Trigger Squeeze


#5 Aluminium Falcon

Aluminium Falcon

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 04:19 PM

Allan Quartermain: Aim.

 

Tom Sawyer: That's easy.

 

Allan Quartermain: Adjust for wind and target movement.

 

Tom Sawyer: That's easy, too.

 

Allan Quartermain: Here's the part that's not. You have to feel the shot. Take your time with it. You have all the time you need. All the time in the world.


  • awayputurwpn, Sofia Corba, EldritchFire and 3 others like this

#6 Col. Orange

Col. Orange

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,102 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 02:07 AM

Yep, in other words, "a character can assist an ally with whom he is engaged."

 

So romantic. [sigh]


Edited by Col. Orange, 18 July 2014 - 07:03 AM.

  • awayputurwpn, progressions, derroehre and 3 others like this

What's written above is meant with love


#7 awayputurwpn

awayputurwpn

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,570 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 10:53 AM

 

Yep, in other words, "a character can assist an ally with whom he is engaged."

 

So romantic. [sigh]

 

 

Player: "I'd like to assist my ally."

GM: "I don't see no ring on that finger!"


  • Col. Orange, progressions, Sofia Corba and 1 other like this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS