1- I understand in the cards text when it says "Any Phase" or "Challenge" but what does it mean when a card has "Resolve" at the beginning of the text?
Could you give an example? Do you mean "Response"? If so, those form a specific part of the timing structure, and can only played immediately in response to whatever they state in the following text e.g. "Response: After you win a Mil challenge ..." can only be played immediately after winning a military challenge.
2- When kneeling Influence in play am I correct in thinking that the card used for Influence must be placed in the discard pile at the end of the round?
Nope - the rulebook says nothing of the sort. Certain specific cards are discarded after use for influence, but most stick around and can be re-used when they next stand.
3- We placed our cards during "Set Up" and it appears by the description that we are only allowed to place characters and locations at this point. We then are told to draw cards again until we have seven in our hand. We are only drawing new cards to replace the ones we laid down during "Set Up" right?
There are some exceptions to the chars/locations; attachments specifically with the 'setup" keyword can be placed during setup, as can cards with the shadows mechanic (even if they are attachments or events). You are only drawing cards to replace the ones you laid down during setup, unless you happen to be playing one agenda (House of Dreams) which forces you to start with 6 cards for setup, but you can still redraw up to 7.
4- When playing cards during the "Marshalling" phase we are assuming that no more cards can be played to the active table during the "Challenge" phase unless a card says it can be played during any phase.
Mostly right. Marshalling characters/locations/attachments by paying their gold cost (even if it's 0) can only be done during the marshalling phase. For characters/location/attachments, this is considered "playing them". However, some effects allow you to "put into play" a card - that bypasses the gold cost, and sometimes the phase restriction as well - one particularly important example of this is Ambush. The distinction between "Play" and "Put into PLay" is an important one.
However, just to clarify ; events with the "Challenges" or "Any phase" headers can still be played in the challenge phase.
5- When challenging only the cards in play (laid face up) can be used right? No cards can be considered for that round out of the cards you hold in your hand?
Not quite as simple an answer as you might think. First of all, events can drastically swing the balance of power - as can 'surprise' characters that jump into play during the challenges phase. Examples include characters with ambush, Catelyn Stark from Lords of Winter, Khal drogo from the core set... the list goes on. However, in order to initiate a challenge you have to do so by declaring participating characters (and normally kneeling them) from the cards you have in play.
One More - Arya Stark is able to steal "Stealth" from another player and render them unable to defend a challenge for that round. She also gains the "Stealth" stolen for that round. She would appear to be a defensive card played in advance to bolster an upcoming challenge that you may be ready to initiate or simply as protection against a possible heavy attack from an opponent. Can someone detail how a card like this is actually used.
Well, since she can also steal renown (or both, if a character had both), she's actually more versatile than that. Maybe your opponent's biggest character has stealth, and in order to win you need to be able to stealth them. You can then use Arya agressively to steal that keyword off him, rendering that character able to be bypassed with stealth. Maybe your opponent is counting on being able to stealth 2-3 of your characters, and by taking one keyword, not only do you make it so they can stealth one fewer, but they also won't be able to bypass arya.
Edited by -Istaril, 13 July 2014 - 10:18 PM.