Jump to content



Photo

Ion damage an incomplete manoevers


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Argyle Jedi

Argyle Jedi

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 10:16 AM

I ionized Wedge in a game recently, and then made sure someone was in his way for two turns.  Was I right that since he didn't complete his white maneuver, he was still stuck as ionized?  That's how we played it, but I want to make sure, so that I can either use it again, or stop abusing unfairly.



#2 Sergovan

Sergovan

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,011 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 10:30 AM

gallery_4_2_26127.png

 

You missed the "remove all ion tokens from the ship" clause upon activation.

 

The ship would do the white forward maneuver and remove the ion token. Your being in front and causing an overlap would cause the ship to lose out on its actions from the perform action step that it would be skipping from the overlap.

 

It would not be stuck with keeping the ion token.


Rebels: 5 X-Wing, 4 Y-Wing, 4 A-Wing, 2 Yt-1300, 3 B-wing, 3 HWK-290, 3 Z-95, 1 E-wing, 1 CR 75

Empire: 6 Tie Fighters, 6 Tie Interceptors (1- 181st, 1- RG), 2 Tie Advanced, 2 Firesprays, 4 Tie Bombers,

2 Lambda, 1 Tie Phantom, 1 Defender

Tournament results: 11 of 11; 3 of 11;(AoIA)2 of 3; 12 of 28


#3 Cptnhalfbeard

Cptnhalfbeard

    Member

  • Members
  • 440 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 06:30 PM

Obstructed move does not equal Incomplete maneuver.  It is impossible in this game to not complete a maneuver, once the steps of performing a maneuver are complete (obstructed or no) that movement is considered to be complete.  Same goes for green and red maneuvers, even if it is obstructed, you still gain all the benefits/penalties for completing a green/red (or ionized) movement.


Edited by Cptnhalfbeard, 13 July 2014 - 06:30 PM.


#4 Parravon

Parravon

    Member

  • Members
  • 783 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 09:20 PM

Obstructed move does not equal Incomplete maneuver.  It is impossible in this game to not complete a maneuver, once the steps of performing a maneuver are complete (obstructed or no) that movement is considered to be complete.  Same goes for green and red maneuvers, even if it is obstructed, you still gain all the benefits/penalties for completing a green/red (or ionized) movement.

There is one you can't complete and that's the K-turn that results in an overlap. You move as far as you can, but don't get the turn in.


Rick

Hastings, New Zealand


#5 ziggy2000

ziggy2000

    Member

  • Members
  • 736 posts

Posted 13 July 2014 - 09:37 PM

 

Obstructed move does not equal Incomplete maneuver.  It is impossible in this game to not complete a maneuver, once the steps of performing a maneuver are complete (obstructed or no) that movement is considered to be complete.  Same goes for green and red maneuvers, even if it is obstructed, you still gain all the benefits/penalties for completing a green/red (or ionized) movement.

There is one you can't complete and that's the K-turn that results in an overlap. You move as far as you can, but don't get the turn in.

 

Yes, but that still counts as "executing a maneuver", and you still get the stress token even though it ended up being a "straight" maneuver that may not have been red on your dial.


  • VanorDM and sperril like this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS