Jump to content



Photo

OL card usage dealing with attribute test issues


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 vendalkin

vendalkin

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 July 2014 - 01:37 AM

So I'll need some feedback hopefully from an admin to prove my point to my friends if im right, and I wont tell you what position im on regarding the issue but please discuss.

Here's the circumstance:

OL plays a card forcing the player to roll an attribute test, witht he text if player passes OL draws a card. OL draws befuddle which forces a reroll of the test. can he use this card immediately to make the test re-roll? and if so when the player fails what happens since the OL in the case of the fail would not have drawn the befuddle card?

 

Also since the befuddle says immediately after the check, does that specify the dice roll then?

in that case would drawing the card then be enough of a time/action space for immediate to prevent befuddle from being played?



#2 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 783 posts

Posted 07 July 2014 - 06:18 AM

So I'll need some feedback hopefully from an admin to prove my point to my friends if im right, and I wont tell you what position im on regarding the issue but please discuss.

Here's the circumstance:

OL plays a card forcing the player to roll an attribute test, witht he text if player passes OL draws a card. OL draws befuddle which forces a reroll of the test. can he use this card immediately to make the test re-roll? and if so when the player fails what happens since the OL in the case of the fail would not have drawn the befuddle card?

 

Also since the befuddle says immediately after the check, does that specify the dice roll then?

in that case would drawing the card then be enough of a time/action space for immediate to prevent befuddle from being played?

I think he cannot play the Befuddle. The time to play Befuddle would be BEFORE he draws an OL card. My reasoning is this- suppose the OL had Befuddle in his hand, but chooses not to play it. 

 

1) OL plays Sign of Weakness on a resting hero.

2) The hero passes the test.

3) The OL draws a card (let's say, Uncontrolled Power.)

4) The OL plays Befuddle to make the hero reroll.

5) The hero fails.

 

The above situation wouldn't be allowed, because the OL is trying to gain the effects of both the fail and the pass outcomes. The situation would be no different if the Uncontrolled Power were already in his hand and Befuddle were the card he drew (as your example) because the heroes couldn't tell the difference since the OL hand is secret.

 

It would be the same as dropping a Grease Trap, making the hero take a fatigue for passing, then befuddling to make him take another fatigue if he passed again, or suffer the other effects of Grease Trap if he failed. Not allowed. 


Edited by Zaltyre, 07 July 2014 - 06:44 AM.


#3 Coldmoonrising

Coldmoonrising

    Member

  • Members
  • 226 posts

Posted 07 July 2014 - 07:12 AM

I'm agreeing with Zaltyre here. In order to play Befuddle, you would need to have had the card to play before the original OL card finished up the triggering effect that let the card be drawn. Since the 1st OL card concluded, there is attribute test to reroll on.



#4 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 978 posts

Posted 07 July 2014 - 11:32 AM

I agree.  This is how we have always played issues such as these.



#5 Carbini

Carbini

    Member

  • Members
  • 157 posts

Posted 07 July 2014 - 12:16 PM

Nope, once the OL "draws a card" from the effects of the first card, that card has been resolved. There is no more test to use befuddle on because the OL has already finished all the effects of the first card.

It's not even a timing issue really. The first card is just... done. :)



#6 Sixko

Sixko

    Member

  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 07 July 2014 - 01:50 PM

Nope, once the OL "draws a card" from the effects of the first card, that card has been resolved. There is no more test to use befuddle on because the OL has already finished all the effects of the first card.

It's not even a timing issue really. The first card is just... done. :)

 

That was my thought as well.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS