Card Sleeves for Core Set

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 lucmobz

lucmobz

• Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 10:55 AM

Ahoy, I just discovered this cool website (I am new to these kind of board games and such) and I am planning to buy the core set from the online shop, I'd also like to buy some sleeves but have no idea how big the cards (maybe there are different sizes) and what kind of sleeves I need (americans, european ehm...what), I only know there are 226 cards in the box.

So whoever already owns those fancy sleeves can be so kind to tell me what kind of sleeves and how many I need for the whole set? Thanks in advance!

PS: I am thinking of clear transparent sleeves btw.

#2 Khamul The Easterling

Khamul The Easterling

• Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 11:39 AM

I am planning to buy the core set from the online shop, 

I would highly recommend not to do that.  Get it on amazon, ebay, coolstuff inc or miniature market.  You are going to be paying way more buying stuff from this website just because its Fantasy Flight's Website.  For example, the core set is only $30 on Amazon with free shipping.  But its going to be around $50 (with shipping costs) if you get it from fantasy flight online store.   Same product for $20 more.  You could use that $20 to buy 2 Adventure Packs or a duluxe expansion.  Its your money but I thought I'd let you know that you can get it a lot cheaper.  

Anyways, for sleeve size you need "Standard Sleeves"  or sometimes called "Standard Card Game Sleeves" They are 63.5 x 88 MM.  What brand of sleeve you get is a very controversial issue.  Although each brand is "Standard Card Game Sleeves", they all are slightly different in size, quality and feel.  This is what I can tell you.

Ultra Pro Sleeves - They have a small, little hologram circle on the bottom corner of the sleeves which some people find annoying.  These sleeves fit the card very well however.  Fairly cheap.