Page 24 of the rules actually says that when a card with victory points leaves play, it is added to the victory display. Player cards like Black Arrow specifically mention to add the card to the victory display as part of the cost of triggering the effect, but this is not technically required for the "has Victory points" passive effect to function. This is why enemies and locations with Victory: X "just work" and do not require further text about where to put them when they leave play.
My intent was to change the card as little as possible. The effect of Will of the West could also be changed to:
"Action: Add Will of the West to the victory display to choose a player. Shuffle the chosen player's discard pile into their deck."
This is functionally equivalent to my change of adding 1 victory point, it is just more explicit about Will of the West not going to the discard pile. As much as I enjoy nitpicking rules minutiae, I think the intent was pretty clear with my original post.
Edited by danpoage, 01 July 2014 - 11:28 AM.