Okay, so today I finally got my grubby little EVIL OL hands ( ) on all of the Lieutenant packs for Descent 2 (except for Skarn as that hasn't been released as of yet).
Obviously, since I just got them, I have not as of yet used them. I have followed many of the threads that discuss their use, and a few minutes ago, I read the rules that accompany every one of the packs. It only took me 3 or 4 of them before I realized they were all the same. Okay, so it wasn't the best of mornings
Now, again, I have not actively utilized any of these as of yet. But it seems to me, at first blush, that an OL has to be very careful and selective in timing when it comes to spending threat tokens to trigger cards, as they immediately become fortune tokens for heroes.
And given the fact of what heroes can do with them (for those who don't know - recover fatigue, reroll dice, perform additional actions, collectively spend fortune tokens to draw one additional shop item card), giving heroes fortune tokens could be REALLY REALLY bad for an OL.
In fact, I could see injudicious use of threat (which turns into fortune), being able to turn the tide of an encounter/quest/campaign at critical moments
Question #1: The above was my analysis, in a vacuum, of the situation. In real world application, is this what happens? Is it that critical? I would like to hear back from OLs that have actively used these Lieutenant plots cards, and how the expenditure of threat to trigger plot cards (and thus giving heroes fortune tokens) affected the result of their battles. Have you found better times to use them?
Question #2: The third thing a hero can do with fortune tokens is to gain an additional action. The rules specifically state that they can only do this once per hero per turn. The first two things (gain a fatigue and reroll dice) have no such limitation. I assume, therefore, that a hero could choose to do this any number of times they desire on their turn? I.e. gain back 4 fatigue if they have 4 fortune tokens (not saying it is the best use, but it is possible)? Or can that hero spend 1 fortune to reroll 1 die (say it was an X), have it come up an X again, and then spend another fortune to reroll the same die? Do all of the rerolls have to occur at once? I am curious how people are playing this.
Question #3: The last thing it says heroes can do is "... collectively spend their fortune tokens to draw 1 additional shop item card". I assume this means that all remaining fortune tokens across all heroes must be spent all at once to draw 1 additional card (in other words, regardless of the total number available, and not per hero but as a collective group). Since all such fortune tokens have to be returned to the supply after the shopping phase, there would be no point not to spend them. But it seems that it could cost 1 fortune, or 3, or 6, or whatever heroes have left after the encounter 2 they just played. If I am reading this correctly, it would behoove the heroes to spend all of their fortune tokens EXCEPT for 1 before the end of encounter 2. Then, they get full use of all fortune during the active encounter, and it then only costs them 1 to draw an additional shop item card. Did I read this correctly? Is this how you are all playing this?
Any input would be appreciated. Thank you.