Jump to content



Photo

Pulling a Consolidate Power order?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 payback 113

payback 113

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 07:53 PM

So this came up in a recent game of mine.  Does a player have to gain power from a placed consolidate power order, or can they just pull the order and forgo any power gain?  

 

It might be useful for the Arryn to set up for Lysa's ability. 



#2 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,322 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 06:43 AM

Payback,

Welcome to the forum!

You'll have to provide a bit more context, because I can't think of a logical reason why one would not garner additional Power Tokens given their value in the game.

Cheers,
Joe

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#3 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,322 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 08:22 AM

"Is there anybody out there?"

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#4 mungkei

mungkei

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 04:32 PM

I feel as though it would be foolish to not take the power tokens, just so that the next turn you may get the chance to gain three (a net of plus one).  Assuming you are playing the Feast for Crows expansion, you are giving up a victory point for that turn as well (unless you would have only been tied with the person you plan to fight).  It is a big risk, because if a Clash of Kings or Wildings Attack comes up you will have put yourself in a slightly worse position than what you would have been.

 

With that said, I do not see any reason why you could not pull the order just as you may with raid or march orders.



#5 payback 113

payback 113

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 07:48 PM

I'll admit my original example was a poor one.  Here is a more realistic situation.  Baratheon player has 10 power and a consolidate in kingswood.  He request the Arryn player (11 power, no consolidates) support in crackclaw against Lannister.  As "payment" Baratheon will pull the kingswood consolidate at the end of the turn allowing Arryn to score a victory point.  win-win situation for both houses.

 

I can't find any specific mention in the rules for or against pulling a consolidate, but I thank you for your input. 



#6 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,322 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 08:34 PM

Payback,

Once played, I believe you can't simply pull it from the board...house rules will override the intent of the rules, but suffice it to say you MUST collect Power tokens associated with the marker any more just as you can't choose not to March after the situation on the board has changed and may no longer be in your favor. If you've placed a March tokat my table...you're marching!

Cheers,
Joe

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#7 kauai1964

kauai1964

    Member

  • Members
  • 402 posts

Posted 21 June 2014 - 10:02 AM

You are NOT required to move units with a March Order.

 

Rulebook, Page 15 --

 

A player may move all, some, or none of his units from the
area assigned the March Order.



#8 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 22 June 2014 - 12:59 PM

Page 16 of the rulebook is vague on this issue.  It simply says:

 

"3. Resolve Consolidate Power Orders
 
Removing/Resolving Orders
Whether an Order token is resolved normally or removed from the game board by other means, it is simply returned to its House’s available orders, ready for use during the next Planning Phase."
 
Players may decide not to resolve Raid Order tokens, or March Order tokens, simply by removing them once it is their turn, but there is no indication either way if this is allowed for CP Orders.
Based on the previous precedent, since all orders are resolved in IT order, one at a time (though in practice, this seldom actually occurs, players just tend to simultaneously announce "2 PT's + Muster" for example, in actual game play; I would say that a player is allowed to remove a CP order token, rather than resolve it normally.
 
Of course, there may come an official FFG ruling that contradicts me, similar to to the situation where in DWDW the Reference card states that Ships in Ports generate a PT in the situation where the with DWDW, if the Raven player decides that DWDW will generate PT's in identical fashion to the GoT Westeros Card, gives a PT for an unblockaded Ship in Port - but then FFG decided that they don't - contradicting their own Reference sheet provided with the game.

(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark


#9 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,322 posts

Posted 22 June 2014 - 07:09 PM

kauai1964,

 

     Great catch ~ my apologies...that's our House Rule...once played, it must be carried out.

 

Cheers,

Joe


The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#10 payback 113

payback 113

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 23 June 2014 - 07:18 PM

The rule book seemed open to interpritation, so I went to the source.  Here's the official response:

 

Consider it optional to take the power tokens. So yes, it is possible to resolve a consolidate power order token without taking any power tokens. It would still be considered “resolved”, but you just chose to not take any power tokens.
 
Jason Walden
Game Producer
Fantasy Flight Games





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS