Jump to content



Photo

Oath of honor and choice of monster


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 12:20 PM

I tried searching here and I wasn't able to find anything about my particular question that came up during our last Session, playing Gryvorn Unleashed.

 

The knight's skill Oath of honour says:

Choose another hero within 3 spaces of you who has a monster adjacent to him. Place your hero figure in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster and perform an attack witha  melee weapon against that monster.

 

I've seen that you can move through monsters, but not through obstacles like doors but what happens if the hero within 3 spaces has more than one monster adjacent to him? DOes the activating hero (the Knight) choose which monster is his "target" and move to the closest adjacent space to that monster or does he move to the closest adjacent space to the closest monster?

 

Here's a quick sketch of the map:

123456K    our knight in the blue row

123H56W     is within 3 spaces of a hero in the green row

12BM56W   who is adjacent to two monsters in the red row

123456W  The space closest to monster M is Green 6 but the space closest to monster B is Black 4

 

Can the knight move to Black 4 and stop monster M from moving to an exit?

 

 

 



#2 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 12:44 PM

The skill is conditioned by a monster adjacent to a hero, when that hero is within 3 spaces of the knight. Whether or not there are other monsters adjacent to that hero is irrelevant, just like if other monsters were adjacent to other heroes in range would be irrelevant.

 

Is monster M adjacent to hero H? Is hero H within 3 spaces of the knight?

If the answers to both of these questions are yes, you can move into the closest space adjacent to that monster using the Oath of Honor ability.

 

At least, that would be my reading of it- you choose what monster you are "targeting" with the ability.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,607 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 06:46 PM

I agree that the Knight's player chooses which adjacent monster is to be involved. Although you aren't "targeting" anything, you still need to identify the hero and the monster adjacent to that hero which are meeting the triggering condition for the ability.

#4 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 05:43 AM

That was my read on it too, but since the Targeted Monster was Belthir and the knight's action would prevent him from moving, there was some discussion whether it was allowed or not. 

 

Thanks for your responses, guys!



#5 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 08:10 AM

That was my read on it too, but since the Targeted Monster was Belthir and the knight's action would prevent him from moving, there was some discussion whether it was allowed or not. 

 

Thanks for your responses, guys!

Could you clarify what you mean about the Knight's action preventing Belthir from moving?



#6 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 09:27 AM

 

That was my read on it too, but since the Targeted Monster was Belthir and the knight's action would prevent him from moving, there was some discussion whether it was allowed or not. 

 

Thanks for your responses, guys!

Could you clarify what you mean about the Knight's action preventing Belthir from moving?

 

One word: Guard

Also, the Dawnblade

Also Belthir had already been hit by the hero who triggered the knight's Oath of Honor ability.

 

So Belthir moves into a space adjacent to the Knight, the knight spends two fatigue and attacks, interupting Belthir's movement, and.... *sad panda music* no more Belthir.



#7 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:07 AM

Sorry, I'm still a little confused. If by "preventing Belthir from moving" you mean "killing him" that's one thing. However, I'm a bit confused about the sequence of events- I thought we were talking about "Oath of Honor," not "Guard." How could you have used both skills at the same time, as one is used during your turn, and the other is triggered when a monster moves?



#8 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:18 AM

Sorry, I'm still a little confused. If by "preventing Belthir from moving" you mean "killing him" that's one thing. However, I'm a bit confused about the sequence of events- I thought we were talking about "Oath of Honor," not "Guard." How could you have used both skills at the same time, as one is used during your turn, and the other is triggered when a monster moves?

In Gryvorn Unleashed, the first quest is for the ritual materials to boost Gryvorn in the 2nd act of the Finale.

The OL gets Lieutenants according to his victories in Act II and any "lost" lieutenants are replaced by monster groups.

 

The first objective token is placed in an area hard for any of the overlord's minions to reach, the second is placed in a room, behind a door within easy reach of two lieutenants (or one or two groups if the lieutenants were lost). The third token is with Splig, in a room with a door, not within easy reach of the heroes.

 

Our OL had Splig, Belthir and one open monster group.

We maneuvered, despite the OL's precautions to prevent us from swarming his minions, and placed Leoric adjacent to Belthir and the Master monster of the open group that blocked the passage to Objective token 2. Leoric used his heroic feat to attack both of them, using Runic sorcery to impose the Immobilized condition. We made sure the knight was within 3 squares of Leoric.

 

On the OL's turn, he can't move Belthir or his master monster as they are immobilized, so he attacks with them, and moves the one other monster he has left. He uses Splig to pick up Objective Token 3.

 

On the heroe's 2nd turn... the situation I listed in the OP occured. The knight used oath of honor to move and attack Belthir, making him very low on Health.

 

ON the OL's turn, he can move Belthir towards Obejctive 2 and risk the Knight's guard, or move him away.

*Cue Monty Python's King Arthur 'run away, run away!'*

 

Without Oath of Honor, our Knight would not have been able to get between Belthir and Objective Token 2

:P


Edited by Alarmed, 19 June 2014 - 11:20 AM.


#9 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 11:49 AM

Thanks, that clears it up- I somehow got the impression that you were using "Guard" and "Oath of Honor" at the same time, and that didn't sound right. However, I understand now, and stick by my earlier statement that yes, you could have absolutely used "Oath of Honor" as you did.



#10 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 484 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 03:13 PM

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.



#11 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 07:55 AM

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Done!

This is what I sent in:

 

My question is about the Knight skill Oath of Honor.

The skill allows the knight to move to the aid of an ally within 3 squares who has a monster adjacent to him. But what if the ally has more than one monster adjacent? Does the knight move to the closest space adjacent to the closest monster adjacent to the ally or can he chose the monster, then move to the closest space adjacent to that monster?

 



#12 any2cards

any2cards

    Member

  • Members
  • 613 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 08:43 AM

 

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Done!

This is what I sent in:

 

My question is about the Knight skill Oath of Honor.

The skill allows the knight to move to the aid of an ally within 3 squares who has a monster adjacent to him. But what if the ally has more than one monster adjacent? Does the knight move to the closest space adjacent to the closest monster adjacent to the ally or can he chose the monster, then move to the closest space adjacent to that monster?

 

 

 

I would be very surprised if the answer from FFG was anything but it is the hero's choice as to which space to which they decide to move.



#13 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 20 June 2014 - 12:26 PM

 

 

I'm in agreement with everyone here, but I will also concede that it's a little vague and might be a good question to pose to FFG for a more official ruling.

Done!

This is what I sent in:

 

My question is about the Knight skill Oath of Honor.

The skill allows the knight to move to the aid of an ally within 3 squares who has a monster adjacent to him. But what if the ally has more than one monster adjacent? Does the knight move to the closest space adjacent to the closest monster adjacent to the ally or can he chose the monster, then move to the closest space adjacent to that monster?

 

 

 

I would be very surprised if the answer from FFG was anything but it is the hero's choice as to which space to which they decide to move.

 

that was the answer, but I cannot post the actual answer from where I am.

I will post it here later tonight or tomorrow.

 

Nathan's reply included quite a few nice little examples...



#14 Alarmed

Alarmed

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 21 June 2014 - 06:54 AM

Nathan sez:

 
Oath of Honor states, “Place your hero figure in the closest empty space adjacent to the monster…” Because it states “the monster”, this is saying that the monster mentioned in the first sentence should also be chosen when the hero is chosen. The space the knight is placed in is the space adjacent to the monster and closest to the space he declared the action from.
 
Please consider the following examples:
 
K = Knight
H = Target Hero
M = A monster
Red M = “the monster”
X = Where the knight can be placed
 
I had to delete the examples he included as they did not post well.

Edited by Alarmed, 21 June 2014 - 06:55 AM.


#15 Ra1nko

Ra1nko

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 08:20 PM

Don't want to create another thread, so I'll ask here.

1. When knight uses his Oath of honor, is it must that hero and/or monster were in knight's line of sight?
2. What if there is no free adjacent spaces to the monster?

#16 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 10:18 PM

Don't want to create another thread, so I'll ask here.

1. When knight uses his Oath of honor, is it must that hero and/or monster were in knight's line of sight?
2. What if there is no free adjacent spaces to the monster?

http://community.fan...-teleportation/

 

Above is a thread staing that the Knight can use his ability to move through monsters. Also, on the card, nothing is stated about the monster being in LOS, just being within range- so that's the only requirement. As with any ability that's not stated otherwise, the figure gets placed in the closest available empty space.



#17 Ra1nko

Ra1nko

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 11:03 PM

http://community.fan...-teleportation/
 
Above is a thread staing that the Knight can use his ability to move through monsters. Also, on the card, nothing is stated about the monster being in LOS, just being within range- so that's the only requirement. As with any ability that's not stated otherwise, the figure gets placed in the closest available empty space.


So, for instance, you mean that Knight can leap over closed doors, walls, etc?

#18 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 352 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 11:17 PM

 

http://community.fan...-teleportation/
 
Above is a thread staing that the Knight can use his ability to move through monsters. Also, on the card, nothing is stated about the monster being in LOS, just being within range- so that's the only requirement. As with any ability that's not stated otherwise, the figure gets placed in the closest available empty space.


So, for instance, you mean that Knight can leap over closed doors, walls, etc?

 

 

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.


  • Zaltyre likes this

#19 Ra1nko

Ra1nko

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 11:36 PM

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.


Well, it seems that it's time to reread the rulebook. Again.

So, in this case

-K---
WW---
H----
M----

it'll work?

#20 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 06 July 2014 - 11:46 PM

 

No, they cannot. It needs to be within 3 spaces, but closed doors and walls prevent the spaces from being adjacent.


Well, it seems that it's time to reread the rulebook. Again.

So, in this case

-K---
WW---
H----
M----

it'll work?

 

Through monsters is fine. Through doors/walls is not, as closed doors prevent counting of spaces. Black walls are completely impassible by any means.


Edited by Zaltyre, 06 July 2014 - 11:47 PM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS