Jump to content



Photo

Defense roll on surges - Mace of Kellos


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Alopias

Alopias

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 05:44 PM

The first surge ability on the Mace of Kellos card reads :Each monster adjacent to you suffers 1 life. Our overload feels all his monsters that would get his by this (i.e. they are adjecent to the hero) should get a defense roll to not be hit by the ability.

 

We disagree.

 

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

 

He only gets a defense roll on the initial attack, not on the additional surge AoE hit, right?

 

The same applies for the Tempest ability for the Spiritspeaker. He feels he should get a defense roll if the hero successfully passes the test (the card reads :Exhaust this card and test star. If you fail, recover 1 stam. If you pass, each monster within 3 spaces suffers 2 life and each hero within 3 spaces of you recovers 1 life). Why would the Overlord get a defense roll after the hero had to pass the skill check?

 

Our overload is saying he will only concede with official rules. Can anyone point to an official rule that would settle the arguement?



#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 605 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 06:13 PM

There is no defense roll for the damage suffered. It simply states they suffer one damage: it is not an attack.

The official rules are pretty clear: you only get defense rolls for attacks.


Edited by Whitewing, 12 June 2014 - 06:14 PM.


#3 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 936 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 06:31 PM

There is no defense roll for the damage suffered. It simply states they suffer one damage: it is not an attack.

The official rules are pretty clear: you only get defense rolls for attacks.

You're correct, Whitewing, but you can also roll defense as a side effect of some cards (such as "Reflective Ward", but that's referred to as "dealt".) In general, when it says "suffer," you just suffer. You don't defend.


Edited by Zaltyre, 12 June 2014 - 06:32 PM.


#4 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 605 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 07:58 PM

 

There is no defense roll for the damage suffered. It simply states they suffer one damage: it is not an attack.

The official rules are pretty clear: you only get defense rolls for attacks.

You're correct, Whitewing, but you can also roll defense as a side effect of some cards (such as "Reflective Ward", but that's referred to as "dealt".) In general, when it says "suffer," you just suffer. You don't defend.

 

 

I should also note that Reflective Ward features an attack =p.


  • Zaltyre likes this

#5 Japles

Japles

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 30 December 2014 - 05:32 PM

I know this is an older post but maybe somebody will still see this.

During a first attack with a surge. Can the sure be blocked?

 

Example. Attack rolls 3 heart and a surge for additional 1 heart.

Defender rolls 4 shields.

Would the defender take zero damage?



#6 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 605 posts

Posted 30 December 2014 - 05:37 PM

That is correct, the damage total is 4, and the defense total is 4, so no damage is suffered. The damage is suffered in a separate phase of the attack after damage and defense totals are calculated, and surges are spent before damage is suffered.



#7 Japles

Japles

    Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 30 December 2014 - 06:07 PM

Thanks.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS