#1 Rakky Wistol

Rakky Wistol

The Grey

• Members
  • 2,877 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:21 PM

eta-2-darth-vader-2.jpg?w=497&h=322

I want this!!!

Shapeways has Eta-2's... who's got the skill and steady hands for this?

I bought one Eta-2 in the cheap plastic since they are oh so small... I'd gladly  get another in detail for this to sit on my table.

Edited by Rakky Wistol, 12 June 2014 - 03:37 PM.

#2 MacrossVF1

MacrossVF1

• Members
  • 471 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:30 PM

I'm a good painter but I wouldn't touch it even with a Death Star sized pole. Darth Vader was never 'little Anakin'! :)
  • stegocent, berusplants and Conandoodle like this

The Alternative Wargamer: http://alternativewa...er.blogspot.se/

Repaints and scratchbuilds: http://alternativewa...ar Wars: X-wing

#3 Conandoodle

Conandoodle

• Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 04:10 PM

You could easily do it yourself.

Ship panels

1. Base coat (black or grey - I prefer grey)

2. Paint the panels the two shades of grey.
3. Apply black ink
4. Touch up panels with the original greys.

5. Add a little white/lighter shade of grey to the original greys and run your brush along the edges of the panels (highlighting). You can repeat this step as many times as you like. Once or twice is fine though.

For the Imperial symbols.

1. Grab some custom decal paper. I use Testors. Be sure to get the correct paper (laser or inkjet) to suit your printer.
2. Print design onto the paper.

3. Seal with a matte varnish (I use Testor's dullcote)

4. Paint the area of the model with gloss varnish to make a smooth surface.
5. (Optional) Micro set.
3. Apply decal.
4. (Optional) Apply and re-apply micro sol until happy. This softens the decal and lets it adhere/shape to the surface better.
5. Paint with gloss until you no longer see the decal seam.