Jump to content



Photo

New Player - Many Questions


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 09:48 PM

I have several questions. Any help is appreciated.

From my previous posts, I take it that after the dice are rolled, the steps proceed as follows:
- terror effects
- spell cards
- discard die
- focus or assist
Please let me know if this is incorrect.

1. Spell cards which secure dice are played after the terror effect goes off. Can spells like Voice of Ra be played before the terror effect is determined so as to change a terror die and avoid triggering that effect?

2. I have two dice left in my dice pool. I roll them and fail the task. Can I then use a spell which would secure those two dice - which would mean I would have nothing to discard - continue on with my turn, remove the two dice, reroll them and complete the adventure? Essentially can a spell card be used to get around the die discard phase?

3. I am on an adventure card with a monster. I roll the dice, fail to complete any tasks, but then play the Bind Monster spell to defeat the monster. Do I still need to discard a die, or does the monster count as a completed task?

4. Similar question, can I use the Bind Monster spell on a monster that is on a different adventure card than my investigator? And if so, does that still count as a successfully completed task, assuming it counts in the above scenario?

5. Can you add and roll the red/yellow dice at any point in your turn? Or do they have to be added before rolling the green dice? For instance, I roll the green dice, don't like my results, can I play an item to give me red/yellow/both at that point to allow me to roll the new dice to add to my results before determining if a task has been completed?

I feel I have been very wordy. Please let me know if any clarification is needed.

Edited by DreDrew82, 11 June 2014 - 09:53 PM.


#2 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,369 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:30 AM

Drew,

 

     It is probably better to be a bit more wordy if it makes it clearer to the reader. ;)   As to your inquiries, I'll answer each one in-turn:

 

1.  Yes, you can absolutely change the die BEFORE the Terror effect.

 

2.  I would say you MAY NOT "park" the dice on a Spell in order to use them again...that's very gamey to me.

 

3.  You may use the Bind Monster Spell and take the Monster, but you will still fail the Adventure.

 

4.  I've heard people play it this way....in essence, using a Spell to affect another Adventure card...I can't weigh-in on this one as I'll never play that way, regardless of the actual ruling.

 

5.  I don't believe that you MUST roll them at the beginning of the turn...I know that Richard Launius did just that in one of the games we played at Arkham Nights a few years ago.

 

Cheers,

Joe


  • DreDrew82 likes this

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#3 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 07:28 AM

Thank you!   :)

 

To clarify #3.  You are on an adventure card with two tasks - one of them is a monster token.  You roll and your results will not complete either task.  You discard the spell to kill the monster.  At this point, you would discard a die for the failing roll and then proceed with the remaining dice in at attempt to complete the last task?



#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,529 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 10:50 AM

As for n.3: if the monster token is a complete monster task (covering all requirements) and you use the spell to kill the monster (and the wording of the spell allows you to do so, which means it's worded "after rolling, discard this spell to..."), then you don't have to remove any die from your dice pool.

 

As for n.2: agreed with Joe that this is not the intent of spells, but I should check the rulebook to see if this actually is a loophole left open or not.


  • DreDrew82 likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#5 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 11:31 AM

Thanks Julia!  

 

As the rule-book states the player can only complete one task per roll, can the player roll the dice, play the spell to defeat the monster, and then use the dice to complete a task as well? Or would the user need to roll again so as not to complete two tasks at once?



#6 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,715 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 11:37 AM

Number 2 doesn't make sense to me. The only way to remove those dice from the spell, as far as I'm aware, is to use those two dice with the current faces that you locked with the spell. You can't use the spell to free the dice to reroll because they count as being rolled with the locked side up.

 

For example, you rolled two 1-investigation results but needed two Peril. You use a spell to lock those dice so they aren't discarded. If you want to free those dice, you're going to be using them on a task as they are shown in the spell, not re-rolling. So if two investigations didn't complete the task so you locked them with the spell, well, they're still not going to pass that task when you use your spell, so you'll still fail the task and have to discard one, but you will have lost your spell as well as a die.


  • DreDrew82 likes this

"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#7 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 11:56 AM

Thank you for the response!

 

I may be confused on spells in general.  The rulebook states, "When a die is secured on a Spell card, it remains there until any player chooses to use it to complete a task, removes it from the spell to roll it (see “Removing Secured Dice” on page 14), or until another effect locks that die (see “Locked Dice” on page 12)."

 

I took this to mean that you could remove a die and roll it.  Do they not mean "roll" literally?



#8 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,529 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 01:25 PM

The rulebook states, "When a die is secured on a Spell card, it remains there until any player chooses to use it to complete a task, removes it from the spell to roll it (see “Removing Secured Dice” on page 14), or until another effect locks that die (see “Locked Dice” on page 12)."

 

That's the probelm I thought I had to look at (and thanks for finding it!). Additionally, there's this FAQ entry:

 

"Before any roll, a player may remove some or all of the dice held on spells in order to roll them"

 

This seems to allow the same player who cast the spell to re-use the dice by readding them to the dice pool. This technically is not important unless you save the last two dice (or one die) of your pool to avoid being penalized by failing a task.

 

Thoughts on this one? Anyone?


  • DreDrew82 likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#9 xfoley8

xfoley8

    Member

  • Members
  • 87 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:01 PM

I think it's a loophole and is not playing the game as intended.  I expect the rulebook actually means to indicate 'other' investigators re-rolling dice locked on a spell.  In other words, you lock dice on a spell which can't be used for the adventure you're attempting to do, but you think another player might find useful for later use.  The next player starts his turn, and decides he would rather re-roll the spelled dice than use the results that were saved on it.  He removes the dice and adds it/them to his pool.  The spell is then discarded (and, essentially, wasted). 

 

Also, to comment on #4, I agree with the Prof.  I refuse to play that spells or unique items that kill monsters can be used on any adventure but the one that investigator is on, regardless of the official ruling in the FAQ.


Edited by xfoley8, 12 June 2014 - 03:06 PM.

  • The Professor, Julia and DreDrew82 like this

#10 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,529 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:14 PM

I think it's a loophole and is not playing the game as intended.

 

That's what I thought as well. I think the actual wording was written with the intention that even the original caster can use these dice, but with the idea that he cannot use them before his next turn. The actual wording creates a nasty little loophole.

 

I'll add this to the FAQ list, then, with the hope we can have an official ruling on this one.

 

Thanks Drew for spotting out the problem, and to all the other friends who shared their vision on the subject :)


  • ObsessiveGamer and DreDrew82 like this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#11 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:39 PM

Julia,

 

If you would be so kind as to answer ~ in regards to the Bind Monster spell:

 

As the rule-book states the player can only complete one task per roll, can the player roll the dice, play the spell to defeat the monster, and then use the dice to complete a task as well? Or would the user need to roll again so as not to complete two tasks at once?

 

I realize this is a nit-picky question, but I could see it coming in to play if the investigator is on a top down adventure card and the first slot is a monster.

 

Thanks!



#12 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,301 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 12:27 AM

If you would be so kind as to answer ~ in regards to the Bind Monster spell:

 

As the rule-book states the player can only complete one task per roll, can the player roll the dice, play the spell to defeat the monster, and then use the dice to complete a task as well? Or would the user need to roll again so as not to complete two tasks at once?

 

I realize this is a nit-picky question, but I could see it coming in to play if the investigator is on a top down adventure card and the first slot is a monster.

 

Thanks!

 

Using a monster-killer effect (Bind Monster, Flute of the Outer Gods as well) counts as completing a task, so you can either use that or dice to complete a task, can't do both (unless you're Amanda).


  • DreDrew82 likes this

"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#13 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,529 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 12:42 AM

Yep, what Dam said :)


  • DreDrew82 likes this
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#14 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,529 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 02:05 PM

Still thinking about the issue of re-using dice locked on spells.

 

Rules say that

 

If a failed roll forces the player to discard his last die, he fails the adventure

 

This is even more curious: you cast the spell after rolling (not after failing or succeeding at a task / adventure), so that actually this rule seems to imply that you can roll your last die, secure it on a spell and never fail the adventure because you were not forced to discard your last die.

 

Anyone that could point me to a rule saying "if a failed roll forced the player to discard his last die, or he has no more dice to roll, he fails the adventure"?

 

Thanks for help :)


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#15 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 14 June 2014 - 08:34 AM

I just reread all the rules yesterday and I cannot think of anything. But that doesn't mean it isn't out there.
  • Julia likes this

#16 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,529 posts

Posted 14 June 2014 - 04:22 PM

Thanks for re-checking the rules, Drew. Should re-check everything myself as well, hopefully in not too a long time.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#17 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 15 June 2014 - 11:41 AM

Similar question:

 

I had a focused die today which I no longer needed to complete any tasks on my card.  Do you have to play focused/assisted die as is, or can you add them back to the dice pool for rolling?



#18 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,369 posts

Posted 15 June 2014 - 12:48 PM

Drew,

If you actually completed all of the tasks, the question is moot. However, once you've focused a die, I don't believe it may be rolled again for subsequent tasks by the player.

Cheers,
Joe
  • Julia likes this

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 


#19 DreDrew82

DreDrew82

    Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 15 June 2014 - 01:01 PM

Thanks Joe.  In this instance, I had focused a Investigation 3 and then wound up rolling an Investigation 4 which meant I no longer needed the 3.  I was hoping I could reroll it, but it sounds like that is not the case.  Thanks!



#20 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,369 posts

Posted 17 June 2014 - 02:17 PM

Ahh, got it!

The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS