Jump to content



Photo

Accuracy, Hell and Damnation.


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Boaventura

Boaventura

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 10 June 2014 - 07:25 PM

Greetings worshippers of the Emperor, Xeno lovers and Chaos cultists.

 

Ahem, I have some questions about accuracy, and the psychic phenomena.

 

Recently a player got not only two pistol-wielding, but two different guns that had accuracy on their description, the duel laspistol and the special revolver only made in Gunmetal city.

If he wields both and aims with both, each shot has a different extra damage from accuracy?

 

What if he used Dual Shot? (And yes, Dual shot permits being aimed before being used)

 

And what if his weapon is, instead of a pistol, he used a weapon with either a Storm or Twin-Linked? Technically is still a gun being used in a single shot maneuver,

 

And lastly but not less importantly, at the Psychic Phenomena chart... Should I toss a 1d100 or a 1d10 when the Warp hits the fan? I use a 1d100, but just to be sure that I ask.

 

Also, is there no limits to how much a psyker can use his powers? (Besides the obvious one power per round, ignoring the sustained powers.)



#2 ColArana

ColArana

    Member

  • Members
  • 217 posts

Posted 10 June 2014 - 08:58 PM

 

And lastly but not less importantly, at the Psychic Phenomena chart... Should I toss a 1d100 or a 1d10 when the Warp hits the fan? I use a 1d100, but just to be sure that I ask.

 

Also, is there no limits to how much a psyker can use his powers? (Besides the obvious one power per round, ignoring the sustained powers.)

 

Psyker player here.

 

Yes, you should roll a d100. I imagine it would be rather difficult to roll a 57 on a D10, for example.

 

And no, Psykers are free to spam their powers left right and center if they want, with no discernible limit, save the moment they accidentally summon a daemon into existence and it eats their face and/or an angry mob with pitchforks show up to burn the witch.


Edited by ColArana, 10 June 2014 - 08:58 PM.


#3 darkforce

darkforce

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 10 June 2014 - 11:01 PM

About the Question with Accuracy: In the Basic Version, it confers only a +10 When used together with the Aim-Action, and even with the Errata-Version, Pistols don't benefit from the extra-damage, cause even from only barely calculating the numbers, it'd be broken as hell. 

 

The Damage-Bonus also applies without specifically using a half/full aim, hope that helped :)



#4 ak-73

ak-73

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,057 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 12:56 AM

No, you must have aimed to get extra damage.

 

Alex


My 40K Blog (essentially a Best Of FFG Forums):

http://www.40kroleplay.weebly.com

House Rules, Rule Clarifications, Game Aids, New Creatures, consolidated official Deathwatch Squad Mode rules, 40K Tabletop to 40K Roleplay comversions, etc.


#5 darkforce

darkforce

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 01:37 AM

No, you must have aimed to get extra damage.

 

Alex

Oh, indeed. So much about "being helpful" and "reading the rules correctly" -____-



#6 ak-73

ak-73

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,057 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 03:21 AM

Nobody can remember everything correctly, that's what the forum is for.

 

Alex


My 40K Blog (essentially a Best Of FFG Forums):

http://www.40kroleplay.weebly.com

House Rules, Rule Clarifications, Game Aids, New Creatures, consolidated official Deathwatch Squad Mode rules, 40K Tabletop to 40K Roleplay comversions, etc.


#7 Boaventura

Boaventura

    Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 11:00 AM

Hmmm, re-reading the description, only a basic weapon with accurate quality would benefit from the extra damage, weird, but still, what if said basic weapon is either twin-linked or have the storm quality? For all senses, it's an extra shot while still being a single-shot... Extra damage for both shots? For a single one?

 

Though, just out of curiosity, why can't a pistol weapon receive the extra damage? Or for example, a mounted lascannon? (Lascannons are after all meant to be accurate against big targets like tanks or heavy infantry...)



#8 ak-73

ak-73

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,057 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 01:33 PM

I am still considering that all Heavy Weapons should count as Inaccurate against targets up to Normal size. And for targets larger than Hulking, yes, one could add the extra damage. Even without Accurate weapon quality! It's like sniping (if firing SS)!

 

I wouldn't add the extra damage to more than one damage roll though.

 

Alex


My 40K Blog (essentially a Best Of FFG Forums):

http://www.40kroleplay.weebly.com

House Rules, Rule Clarifications, Game Aids, New Creatures, consolidated official Deathwatch Squad Mode rules, 40K Tabletop to 40K Roleplay comversions, etc.


#9 darkforce

darkforce

    Member

  • Members
  • 143 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 10:25 PM

Lukily, there are no Twin-Linked/Storm Weapons with the Accurate quality and I think it'd be a bit... ridiculous?

 

Pistols not being able to get the Extra-Damage... probably done to prevent the exact problem that started this thread... and a Dual-Shot with a pair of Carnodons loaded with Body-Blower... bringing pain. Lots of it in fact. Damage-wise it'd laugh in the face of a Sniper Rifle... Heck, even in that of a Las-Cannon.



#10 ak-73

ak-73

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,057 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 02:37 AM

For the record, I rule +1d10 for 3 DoS and +2d10 for 6 DoS. Because in my view the extra damage should primarily apply in sniping situations. And then bonuses tend to add up quickly, causing you to max out at +60 most of the time.

 

Alex


My 40K Blog (essentially a Best Of FFG Forums):

http://www.40kroleplay.weebly.com

House Rules, Rule Clarifications, Game Aids, New Creatures, consolidated official Deathwatch Squad Mode rules, 40K Tabletop to 40K Roleplay comversions, etc.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS