Jump to content



Photo

Yithian Scout and Three Bells


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Pac_Man3D

Pac_Man3D

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 10 June 2014 - 01:15 AM

Hi folks

Wondered if you might be able to clear this up for me - my google fu is weak and hasn't come up with the answers.

I have Yithian Scout in my discard pile, trigger its effect to discard a card from my opponent's deck and this returns YS to play. If I then use Three Bells to sacrifice him, can I use his once per turn ability again? Obviously, the card says ONCE PER TURN, but does the discard pile "remember" cards that go into it and then leave?

Also, I can't get any clarity on whether multiple copies of YS can trigger their mill ability each per turn - there's a lot of arguing back and forth in the forums. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Pac_Man3D

#2 TheProfessor

TheProfessor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,055 posts

Posted 10 June 2014 - 07:37 AM

From the FAQ:

 

(2.9) Limit 1/Once

“Limit 1 per...” is a limitation carried by cards whose effects are triggered from out of play. A card of that name can only be triggered 1 time per stated time frame. “Limit once per...” is a limitation carried by cards whose effect are triggered from in play. That card’s effect can only be triggered once per stated time frame. If the effect of the card with either limitation is canceled the limit has still been met for that time frame. 



#3 jhaelen

jhaelen

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,044 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 01:23 AM

Well, can you also explain what that means, TheProfessor? ;)

 

I prefer the following explanation:

“Limit once per X” refers to that specific ability on that
particular card. Each copy of a card with such a limit
may trigger its ability once per each period of X. This
type of limit tends to appear on cards that stay in play .

 

“Limit 1 per X” refers to all copies of a card, by title.
Only 1 copy of a card with the same title may be
triggered by each player during each period of X. This
type of limit tends to appear on event cards.

 

If a card or effect with a limit is canceled, it is still
considered to have been played or triggered, and counts
towards the limit.

This is quoted from the Star Wars FAQ, but in contrast to the explanation in the CoC FAQ, I actually understand it :P

 

So, since Yithian Scout says 'once...', it can be triggered once per copy of the card.


  • TheProfessor likes this

#4 Pac_Man3D

Pac_Man3D

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 12 June 2014 - 11:53 PM

Cheers for clearing that up for me! Much appreciated.
Nice to get the clarity regarding multiple copies of YS in the discard pile too.

Thanks!

#5 marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com

marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com

    Member

  • Members
  • 115 posts

Posted 14 June 2014 - 05:14 PM

Hi,

 

 

From the FAQ:

 

(2.9) Limit 1/Once

“Limit 1 per...” is a limitation carried by cards whose effects are triggered from out of play. A card of that name can only be triggered 1 time per stated time frame. “Limit once per...” is a limitation carried by cards whose effect are triggered from in play. That card’s effect can only be triggered once per stated time frame. If the effect of the card with either limitation is canceled the limit has still been met for that time frame. 

 

But Yithian Scout   trigger his hablity out of play. He trigger his hability from discard pile (it is out of play area).  If he go to discard pile, he can trigger his hability again, isn't?

 

 

(sorry by my wrong english :P)


Edited by marcoa.ramirez@gmail.com, 14 June 2014 - 05:14 PM.


#6 jasonconlon

jasonconlon

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 18 June 2014 - 09:23 PM

I have Yithian Scout in my discard pile, trigger its effect to discard a card from my opponent's deck and this returns YS to play. If I then use Three Bells to sacrifice him, can I use his once per turn ability again? Obviously, the card says ONCE PER TURN, but does the discard pile "remember" cards that go into it and then leave?

But Yithian Scout trigger his hablity out of play. He trigger his hability from discard pile (it is out of play area). If he go to discard pile, he can trigger his hability again, isn't?

Definitive answer, as confirmed here, is that Yithian Scout resets when he re-enters play from the discard pile (and when he re-enters the discard pile from play), and can trigger his "Limit once per turn" ability anew.

See also section (2.23) Zones of Play - Out of Play in the FAQ, which states:
A card that moves from an in play zone to an out of play zone to an in play zone is treated as though it were a new card.
 

Also, I can't get any clarity on whether multiple copies of YS can trigger their mill ability each per turn - there's a lot of arguing back and forth in the forums. Any ideas?

So, since Yithian Scout says 'once...', it can be triggered once per copy of the card.

Yep, jhaelen's got it right - "Limit once per turn" means each Yithian Scout in the discard pile can trigger its Action independently.

Edited by jasonconlon, 18 June 2014 - 09:24 PM.

  • jhaelen likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS