Jump to content



Photo

attacking while in a hazard space?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nhennsc

nhennsc

    Member

  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 02:25 PM

During my last encounter my group came across an issue. The OL used a hellhound to move into a hazard space, interrupted his movement to make an attack, then moved his remaining movement spaces. The hero players were upset saying that as soon as he stops in a hazard space he is defeated (hazard follows the same rules as lava). The OL explained that he is defeated when he ends his turn in a hazard space, and that his turn was not ended until after his remaining movement points were spent. The hero players were still upset but the game went on. Did the OL play it correctly or was the hero players right?



#2 jadedbacon

jadedbacon

    Member

  • Members
  • 57 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 02:30 PM

The figure isn't defeated unless it ends its turn in the hazard/lava space.  It can move through and interrupt in hazard/lava spaces as much as it can (taking damage as appropriate).  From the Rulebook (Page 18, bottom left):

 

 

A figure entering a space containing lava immediately suffers one damage. Any figure that ends its turn in a lava space is immediately defeated.

 

Since the hellhound still had movement points left, the OL was allowed to move the Hellhound out of its current spot to safer ground.


  • BentoSan likes this

Never believe in "never"

- Algus Sadalfas


#3 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 299 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 04:45 PM

jadedbacon is correct. It takes damage from having entered the hazard space, but it is not defeated unless it is still within the space when its turn ends.

 

Furthermore, expanding into hazard spaces does not count as entering the space: the actual space you enter is the only one that counts.


  • BentoSan likes this

#4 BentoSan

BentoSan

    Member

  • Members
  • 320 posts

Posted 10 June 2014 - 04:08 AM

Whitewing and jaded bacon are correct.

It's also important to note that a monster needs to be able to attack from the space before it expands.

Thus if the monster had to be in the hazard space to be able to legally make the attack before it expanded it would recieve damage.

Also a monster in its entirety needs to be in the hazard spaces to be defeated at the end of the turn. If it had one foot in and one foot out it is not defeated at the end of the turn.
  • jadedbacon likes this

#5 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 325 posts

Posted 11 June 2014 - 08:12 AM

All true about the large monsters and defeat only at "end of turn". Last campaign I managed to immobilize a necromancer in a lava space (Web Trap!)  I was proud of myself until he decided to use his last action to summon the Reanimate, who proceeded to kick the snot out of one of my monsters. 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS