Jump to content



Photo

Skill Training.


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#21 princeearwig

princeearwig

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 03:32 PM

Players Guide - Pg. 43

 

Skill Training or Specialisation  This advance allows a character to train in one of the skills listed on his career card.  A single skill can only be trained once per character rank.  If a character trained a skill during character creation, he may not trait it again until character rank 2 - The maximum ranks of training in any given skill is equal to character rank, to a maximum of three ranks of training, regardless of when or how those skills were acquired.  If one of those skills is already trained, the character can choose to instead spend the advance to acquire a specialisation for the appropriate skill.

 

 

It says it right there, the maximum ranks of training are equal to character rank.  When they say once per character rank, it is not a limit meaning if you didn't train it in rank 1, you cannot double train it in rank 2.

 

It refers to them as ranks of training, which coincide with character ranks.  If they intended it to be limited, they would have specified it in the rules.

 

I also agree that if I hoard my advances, I should not be punished.  It makes no sense to tell me that I should have taken the skill training yesterday, but because today I ranked up, I lost out on that skill.

yes it does say "right there" that the maximum ranks of training is equal to your character rank.

But your ignoring the fact they also said that you can only train once per rank.

While you are rank 1 you can train each skill "once", while your rank 2 you can train each skill "Once", While your rank 3 you can train each skill "once"

 

To quote from p21 of the players guide

A character can train a skill once per character rank, up to a maximum of three ranks of training in a skill. When a character goes up in rank, he can spend advances to gain further training in a skill.

 

Once you hit 10 advances you are no longer rank 1, you are rank 2.

If you did not train a skill during rank 1 you cannot now spend an advance earned during rank 2 in order to train it in rank 1. You're training it IN rank 2 and that is your limit of expenditure on that skill in THAT rank.

Or in other words a character that learned his first expertise dice in a skill during rank 2 would not be able to get to 2 dice in that skill until he hit rank 3 and 3 dice when he achieves rank 4.


  • Carcosa likes this

#22 Carcosa

Carcosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 135 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 10:00 PM

@ thePREdiger

RE: Rank Vs Class

You are quite correct good sir. Theoretically you can be rank 3 in your first class and I mistakenly injected our own house rules into that example, so my apologies.



#23 Carcosa

Carcosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 135 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 10:29 PM

@ R_B Bergstrom

Your opening line says it all. It's not mastery that gives you anything, it is the synergy with other cards and skills/talents etc that make it worthwhile.

 

As for a comet result, most skills that have a "good comet results" are opposed to some degree, nullifying the "auto success" part of Mastery, and I maintain that there are few situations by the time you get to rank 4 that you should ever really be facing a "defence" of one purp and a few blacks. If you are, then I'd be looking at something else.............

I get what you are saying, I really do, but I still don't think that spending an advance should be no more than a portal to spending even more advances. Career completion at least gives you something for that point, mastery, well, not so much.  


 



#24 Carcosa

Carcosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 135 posts

Posted 13 June 2014 - 10:46 PM

@Gazery

Again, it's not really mastery that is giving you anything, is it?

All it is really being is a Advance sink to allow for more advances. I have to ask something to both of you here: If you were given the *choice* at skill rank 3 to spend an advance on a auto comet result using your 3 gold dice, or an additional gold dice to your pool, and both options cost one advance, which would you take?



#25 r_b_bergstrom

r_b_bergstrom

    Member

  • Members
  • 497 posts

Posted 16 June 2014 - 11:48 AM

@Carcosa: You are correct that Mastery isn't as potent as yet another yellow die would be for most characters in most situations. Most of the things you can spend 1 XP on in this game are not as good as a yellow die would be. Stance pieces, talents once all your slots are full, actions that take your entire turn to simply provide a white die buff to someone else, acquiring advanced skills cross class, etc. They all kinda suck compared to yellow dice. The game is set up so that you get some sort of bonus nearly every session, but most of those bonuses are relatively small.

 

If you know exactly which skill you will roll the most, yellow dice are huge. That you only get to choose this bonus 3 times for any given skill is an important balancing factor.

 

I don't believe the game would actually benefit from allowing infinite yellow-dice accumulation. PCs of 5th Rank already have stupidly large dice pools that take a little too long to compile and assess, and they almost never miss nor fail at their best skills. 


  • Emirikol likes this

#26 Carcosa

Carcosa

    Member

  • Members
  • 135 posts

Posted 16 June 2014 - 04:12 PM

@R_B_Bergstrom

 

Yes indeed the cap is an important balance factor, I agree with you wholeheartedly, I am just not a fan of how mastery works. I would rather mastery gave you something more concrete for your advance.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS