Jump to content



Photo

Highlander Question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 twistedbard

twistedbard

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 June 2014 - 07:48 PM

can the highlander choose to draw a second card in the hills after looking at the first?

 

my buddies argument against is that you'd have completed drawing after the first card if you haven't already declaired that you're drawing two cards beforehand. it seems to me that if nothing in the rules says that you have to do such a thing, then deciding wether or not you're done drawing after the first card would be perfectly legal.



#2 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,340 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 12:15 AM

On the fence over this one for the moment. Leaning toward the answers below.....


Edited by talismanamsilat, 09 June 2014 - 03:46 AM.


#3 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,740 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 12:25 AM

You can draw the first card and look at it, then decide if you want to draw a second card.

 

The Highlander's ability says "you may draw two cards, instead of one".

 

It looks like drawing 2 cards is an alternative to drawing only one card. It doesn't say that you may draw 1 additional card.


  • DomaGB likes this

#4 DomaGB

DomaGB

    Member

  • Members
  • 495 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 01:44 AM

I agree with The Warlock, the word "may" is a choice, and the consequences are with the text as well: "but you must encounter both cards"
 
Sorta like an "If and then" in basic programming. And if they are making rules of "if and then" and they wanted to give the character power, they could have made another "if and then" type statement:  "If you want another card after the 1st, you may then draw a 2nd".
 
Or even word it better and save space, as card space is a premium: "Whenever you land on the Hills, you may draw a 2nd card after the 1st, but you must encounter both cards. If there is a card already on the Hills when you land there, you may draw a second card, but you must encounter both cards."


Edited by DomaGB, 09 June 2014 - 01:46 AM.

RoboRally, then Talisman. That's the way it is... ;)





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS