• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Isilion

Isilion

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 05:11 PM

Hi all,

I'm new to the game. Brand new in fact, I haven't played a single quest yet, but I'm studying the rules.  

I have a question to which I haven't found an explicit reply yet.    

If someone does an AoE attack and rolls one or more surges, does he choose separate surge results for each target or does he choose once and apply that to all?

I'm guessing the last option, but I'd rather be 100% sure.

#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

• Members
  • 411 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 06:07 PM

Do you mean a blast attack? You spend your surges once and only once every time you attack. It applies the same to every target effected by your attack.

#3 Isilion

Isilion

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 07:52 PM

yes, things like blast, the hero feat of Widow, fire breath, etc.

Ok so it is as I expected. thanks for the clarification :)

#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

• Members
  • 4,633 posts

Posted 08 June 2014 - 06:31 AM

Yes, surges apply to the attack as a whole.

Also note that this means if somebody has an ability to cancel surges on an incoming attack, that surge will be effectively removed for everybody affected by the attack, not just the figure who's cancelling it.

#5 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

• Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 08 June 2014 - 09:51 AM

Also note that this means if somebody has an ability to cancel surges on an incoming attack, that surge will be effectively removed for everybody affected by the attack, not just the figure who's cancelling it.

Are you sure about this Steve-O? I never saw anything like that but I would have ruled, that such an effect would only trigger if the character is really target of the attack and not a bystander in the blast radius.

Is there a ruling on it?