Jump to content



Photo

Damage dealt by SpecForces


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 WookieeRoar

WookieeRoar

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 04:38 PM

A question we encountered when playing the LS challenge deck last night.

 

LS blocks our DS attack with SpecForces Commando. He wins the edge and kills the single attacking 2HP unit.

 

The question was how much cards does the Specforces mill?

2 because only 2 actual damage was dealt (because the remaining "overkill" fizzles) or 4 because the Specforces can deal 4 damage.

 

This has a big impact on the stategy to deal with Specforces.

If the "overkill" fizzles and doesn't increase the Milling power, it's more useful to harras the SpecForces with low HP units so they get focused for the ramainder of the turn and only 1 or 2 cards get milled.

If the SpecForces always do 3 or 4 Milling damage, it's better to hit them hard and fast with a 4+ HP unit to kill them ASAP.



#2 Demas

Demas

    Member

  • Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 08:34 PM

Damage [page 21]

 

When a card receives damage, place a number of damage tokens on it, with total value equal to the amount of damage received.When a card has a number of damage tokens with value equal to or greater than its damage capacity, it is immediately destroyed. Damage in excess of its damage capacity is ignored.


Edited by Demas, 07 June 2014 - 08:34 PM.


#3 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,302 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 08:46 PM

You can attempt to deal damage beyond the remaining damage capacity of a unit or objective, but as the excess damage is ignored, only damage up to their capacity is actually dealt.  In this case, the damage dealt would only be 2.



#4 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 662 posts

Posted 08 June 2014 - 07:22 PM

Concur, it is the amount of damage dealt, not the amount of damage it can deal. In your instance, it only needed to deal the 2 damage to wreck the unit, so that is the card loss.


Welcome to the machine!


#5 WookieeRoar

WookieeRoar

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 06:49 AM

Thanks for the confirmation.

 

In the end that is how we played the effect as well.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS