Jump to content



Photo

~Rules Question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Elder Thing

Elder Thing

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 June 2014 - 12:44 AM

I have a question regarding those items/spells which have as a condition of their use 'before/after' rolling'. Does this mean that they have to be used before (or after) rolling any dice, or an individual roll. In other words, which is correct?

 

1) I have to use the spell/item before starting to roll any dice for that particular adventure - or, if the condition is 'after rolling' after I've finished rolling all the dice I can, or wish to.

 

or...

 

2) I can roll the dice pool, possibly complete an individual task (or not), and then, with dice still remaining in the dice pool, use these types of items and spells then.

 

Any help much appreciated :)



#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,268 posts

Posted 03 June 2014 - 01:59 AM

After each attempt to solve a task, not before / after deciding which adventure to attempt.

 

Please note that rules for spells were changed in the later printing of the game: they are to be used after rolling, not before.


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Elder Thing

Elder Thing

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 June 2014 - 04:41 PM

Thanks very much for your response. I see what you mean about spells, but there are certainly items which still have 'before rolling' as a condition for their use.

 

Just to be absolutely clear (or possibly pedantic), if I understand correctly the word 'rolling' in this context means each individual roll of the dice pool, not the entire process of rolling all of the dice for that particular adventure?


  • Julia and ObsessiveGamer like this

#4 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,268 posts

Posted 04 June 2014 - 02:25 AM

Yeah, exactly. Each time you put the dice in your hand to attempt a specific task (not when choosing a specific adventure)


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS