Jump to content



Photo

Question about Card Name including italic rider


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 ibell

ibell

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 01:21 PM

Does it? Does the Title "name of the card" include the light italic text following the bold?

 

Could, for example, a player have 3 x "Wilbur Whately, Scion of Yog Soggoth" and  3x "Wilbur Whately, Preternaturally Intelligent" in the same Deck?

 

Could a player play "Wilbur Whastely,. Scion of Yog Soggoth" if he already controlled an in play "Wilbur Whately, Preternaturally Intelligent"?

 

Thanks

 

 



#2 jasonconlon

jasonconlon

    Member

  • Members
  • 208 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 10:17 AM

Cards can have:

  1. A heading, known as the 'title', which is the name of this card.
  2. A sub-heading (for those cards that have it), known as the 'descriptor', which provides additional descriptive text such as thematic information about the card, and is used to differentiate versions of cards.

A card with a bullet next to its title is unique. If you have a unique card in play, you cannot play, take control of, or put into play another card with the same title - regardless of whether they have different descriptors.
So, no, you could not play 'Wilbur Whately, Scion of Yog-Sothoth' if you already had played, put in to play or taken control of 'Wilbur Whately, Preternaturally Intelligent'.

Note also that you may not have more than three of any card title in the deck - again, regardless of whether they have different descriptors.
So, also no, you could not have both 3x 'Wilbur Whately, Scion of Yog-Sothoth' and 3x 'Wilbur Whately, Preternaturally Intelligent' in the same deck.

For further info, see the following sections in the Core rules:

  • The Cards - Card Anatomy Key
  • The Cards - Unique Cards
  • Deck-Building Rules


#3 ibell

ibell

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 02:36 AM

Ah yes, thank you. I hadn't noticed the "Descriptor" label (2) in Card Anatomy for some reason. This is indeed clearly covered in the Core Rules. Thanks for setting me straight.


  • jasonconlon likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS