Jump to content



Photo

Pyromancy, Molten Man (Tome of Fate)


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 01:04 PM

So, Molten Man. A psychic power from the Pyromancy Discipline in Tome of Fate.

 

One of the effects of it is:

"Before accounting for Toughness and Armour, the psyker reduces all Damage from heat and fire and half of the Damage caused by plasma, las, and melta weapons."

 

Does that make any sense to anyone? The Errata hasn't been updated since ever, so that's no help. Goddammit FFG, we all know your proof-reading is terrible, but must you also be terrible at publishing erratas?


Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#2 FieserMoep

FieserMoep

    Member

  • Members
  • 377 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 02:32 PM

Was not there a similar power one of the other 40kRPG lines? Cant remember where though... some DH1 supplement?

 

But I would interpret it that way: Reduce all Damage from Heat/Fire/Plasma/Las/Melta by half before you reduce them by armor and toughness.



#3 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 03:57 PM

That's what I ended up doing, but the sentence itself makes no sense to me. If anyone have any alternate interpretations, I'd love to hear it.


Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#4 Unskium

Unskium

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 03:43 AM

Was not there a similar power one of the other 40kRPG lines? Cant remember where though... some DH1 supplement?

 

But I would interpret it that way: Reduce all Damage from Heat/Fire/Plasma/Las/Melta by half before you reduce them by armor and toughness.

 

One small correction. You reduce all Damage from Plasma/Las/Melta by half and then take into account your Armor and Toughness scores.  You completely ignore Heat/Fire based Damage instead of just halving it.

 

the psyker reduces all Damage from heat and fire


  • Trailblazer likes this

#5 Quietus1

Quietus1

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 12:29 PM

Yeah, I'd say it eliminates heat and fire damage entirely, half from the rest.

 

This is essentially a duplicate of the Flameshroud power from Ascension, except Flameshroud doesn't burn all your stuff up :P



#6 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 02:26 PM

No damage from flame/heat, half from las/plasma/etc, then continue as normal.

 

It's a horrible power, frankly. Equipment is life, even for psykers (or especially for psykers?).



#7 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 02:46 PM

Yeah, it's absolutely terrible, to the point where I ended up rewriting the whole thing (mostly) for the conversion anyway. :P


Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#8 Keffisch

Keffisch

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,121 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 03:00 PM

I find it quite handy on Space Marine Sorcerors, might just be me though. :)



#9 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 17 May 2014 - 10:43 PM

I find it quite handy on Space Marine Sorcerors, might just be me though. :)

 

You mean those guys whose millennias old armour gets destroyed when the power's manifested? Oh, right.


  • Fgdsfg likes this

#10 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 02:15 AM

The funny thing is that when their super-advance power armour relics that are probably worth more than most imperial worlds turn to slag, the protection conferred by Molten Man probably still results in less protection than the protection you lost when the armour went poof.

So, yeah, sure, it halves the damage taken by plasma, las and melta weapons. Fair enough.

But odds are that the Power Armour already did better than that.

Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#11 Tenebrae

Tenebrae

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,043 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 02:54 AM

But odds are that the Power Armour already did better than that.

Not against the sort of Pen Plasma/Melta weapons tend to have.

In general though, true enough.



#12 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 18 May 2014 - 12:58 PM

 

But odds are that the Power Armour already did better than that.

Not against the sort of Pen Plasma/Melta weapons tend to have.

In general though, true enough.

 

 

Armour in combination with a good force field does better than Molten Man vs. fire/plasma/stuff/everything else, though. Can't use force fields when everything you wear turns to cinders.



#13 Keffisch

Keffisch

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,121 posts

Posted 19 May 2014 - 02:26 AM

 

I find it quite handy on Space Marine Sorcerors, might just be me though. :)

 

You mean those guys whose millennias old armour gets destroyed when the power's manifested? Oh, right.

 

Not all Compacts require that you don your armour, some in fact, would go badly if you proudly displayed your wargear while walking the streets of an Imperial hive city.

 

And when one tosser decides to wave a Plasma weapon in your face in a dark basement, laughter ensues.



#14 Fgdsfg

Fgdsfg

    Lrod-Iniquitsor

  • Members
  • 2,101 posts

Posted 19 May 2014 - 02:51 AM

Entirely true, but by that logic, I would point out that not all Compacts requires you to be butt-naked or butt-naked on flames. Some, in fact, would go badly if you proudly displayed your genitalia while walking the streets of an Imperial Hive City.

 

Tongue in cheek, of course, but the point still stands. You can't do anything with this power that wouldn't severely compromise your ability to act and survive, either before or after the act. You'd have to be a half-naked dude practically without viable gear, just for that one off chance you may be going undercover somewhere at some point in time, and just then, you happen to be under attack; by energy-based ranged weapons, no less.

 

It's a fun ability, and it's pretty fluffy. It's just not very useful at all.


Gamergate Primer

Unified WH40kRP Ruleset Homebrew - Personal Notes
Talking Necrons. Dreadknights. Centurion Armour. Sororitas-murdering Grey Knights.
These things are dumb and do not exist. This is non-negotiable and undebatable.

#15 Amroth

Amroth

    Member

  • Members
  • 236 posts

Posted 27 May 2014 - 06:24 AM

On the plus side it's a pretty impressive way to start a nudie run!



#16 htsmithium

htsmithium

    Member

  • Members
  • 212 posts

Posted 27 May 2014 - 07:14 AM

It could also be used as a pretty big FU to someone else if you use the inscription path to power ( not sure if that is the real name as my rule book is else ware) to cast this power on another person, or an entire area to mess with people's heads.  

I.E. in the middle of a sermon by one of the false emperor's lackeys have the area with the most " pious" members suddenly be filled with flaming " daemons"


 ding dong mala mortuus est,

quem veteres strigam

impii strigam

ding dong impiorum strigam mortuus est.


#17 BrotharTearer

BrotharTearer

    Member

  • Members
  • 489 posts

Posted 29 May 2014 - 12:36 AM

While an interesting idea, there's one problem with it. The Profane Symbols Path of Power explicitly names "Allies" and "Area" as targets, which would mean you can't use it on someone who's not your buddy. Now, it allows for some wiggle room. If the person you're painting runes onto thinks you're an ally, I suppose it could kind of work. But yeah, I'd not say such an obscure usage is worth 700 xp and 4 other pyromancy powers.  :P






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS