Jump to content



Photo

set-up tile question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 fademasteriv

fademasteriv

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 08:48 AM

For purposes of seting up, are wormhole hexes counted as empty tiles or special tiles?

#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,616 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 01:11 PM

Officially, an "empty hex" is one with nothing in it. So a hex with only a wormhole would not be considered "empty."

It's not a special hex either - those are all marked with red/yellow borders.

It's just a regular hex, like any other.

#3 robertcop2

robertcop2

    Member

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 09 June 2014 - 12:53 PM

This is incorrect. An empty system, at set up time, is a system with no planets. See base rulebook, page 31. Thus, a system with just a wormhole in it, is an empty system. Also, a red-bordered system is not considered empty at set up time.



#4 sigmazero13

sigmazero13

    Rules Geek

  • Members
  • 1,901 posts

Posted 19 June 2014 - 10:58 AM

I agree with robertcop2, strictly speaking Wormhole systems are "empty", and thus should be placed in the pile of empty (blank) systems.

 

However, there's nothing wrong with putting it in the same pile as the planets, just be aware that if you do this, and one or both of those wormhole systems comes into play, you are going to have less planets/resources in play overall.

 

Sometimes, what I do just to keep things interesting, is put the wormholes in the "empty" pile, but make sure they are always in the draw.  I will usually also make sure Lodor and Quann are there, too, as it often helps the galaxy to be more interconnected.  But I should stress this is NOT an official way to do it.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS