Jump to content



Photo

"mimic trap" PL card + treasure hunter


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 poet1001

poet1001

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 05:38 AM

Hey guys, hope someone could help me out.

Here is the deal - treasure huneter attempts to get a treasure. OL plays mimic trap. When mimic has been defeated treasure hunter is equally close to the treasure as 3 other heroes. Is it OL who gets to choose who is getting the treasure? It is important because treasure hunter has an ability that allows him to draw two treasure cards instead of one.



#2 SolennelBern

SolennelBern

    Member

  • Members
  • 958 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 05:49 AM

I don't have the card with me but would it be possible that the Hero that killed the monster is the one to get the treasure?



#3 poet1001

poet1001

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 05:51 AM

Nope, it says that closest hero takes the treasure. So what happens in case several heroes are equally close?



#4 mm26

mm26

    Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 06:47 AM

Nope, it says that closest hero takes the treasure. So what happens in case several heroes are equally close?

I'd guess the hero who killed it decides.



#5 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 609 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 06:52 AM

 

Nope, it says that closest hero takes the treasure. So what happens in case several heroes are equally close?

I'd guess the hero who killed it decides.

 

That's what I would say- while it's not exactly a "timing" conflict, it's that hero's turn. In almost any other case, where there are multiple "closest" spaces, the player taking their turn has the ability to choose one of the spaces (such as placing a familiar, or standing up a knocked out hero whose token is hidden.) There is nothing written to imply that this case is different- there are two equidistant "spaces" containing heroes that are available to resolve the search action- player whose turn it is picks one.


Edited by Zaltyre, 15 May 2014 - 07:03 AM.


#6 SolennelBern

SolennelBern

    Member

  • Members
  • 958 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 07:01 AM

Yep, let the Heroes decide.  IT's their turn and all the OL did was mimic a chest for a monster to annoy them :P

Let them share their loot :)



#7 Kunzite

Kunzite

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 09:07 AM

Not sure it was ever a conflict with us, seeing as it was normally the person that opened the treasure was the one to take the treasure (there are a few exceptions). I think the fall back should be if there is a case of heroes all being in equal distances, then the one previously locked in combat should be the one to take the treasure. At least thematically that seems to work.

 

At this point, it's a house rule if this comes up.


"Bide your time and hold out hope."

~Count of Monte Cristo

 

NotesFromTheOverlord.tumblr.com


#8 poet1001

poet1001

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 16 May 2014 - 08:09 AM

Here is reply from FFG: "In this case, the active play (whose turn it is when the mimic is defeated) should decide which player receives the search card." 


  • Zaltyre likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS