Jump to content



Photo

Cat Burglar and the Black Market


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 benstucky

benstucky

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 12:00 PM

Hey There,

 Was playing the Cat Burglar this weekend with the City Expansion and drew the Black Market.  We were not sure how the Cat Burglar special abilities work with the Black Market.  We saw three possibilities (please suggest more)

1) The Cat Burglar Ignores the effects of the card (no jail time) but instead loses a turn like her ability says if she fails.

2) The Cat Burglar Ignores her special ability and follows the card.

3) The Cat Burgler rolls once to skirt having to pay one gold for the item.  If she looses she misses a turn but does not have to roll for the Black Market jail time.  If she wins then she does gets the object but still has to roll for jail time (a second roll).

 

In the end we just went for option 2 (by vote).  I think it should have been option 1 but others thought that was too much of an unfair advantage.  What should we have done?

 

For reference here is the Black Market text:

You may pay 1 gold to take 1 card from any shop deck, then roll 1 die:
    1 to 3 - You must immediately discard the card, and you are thrown in Jail
    4 to 6 - You are safe

 

and the Cat Burglar special ability:

Whenever you visit a card or space that allows you to buy an Object, you may burgle instead. To do so, choose 1 Object that is available to purchase from the encounter, roll 1 die, and add the result to the Object's cost. If the score is equal to or lower than your Craft, you take the card for free. If the score is higher than your Craft, you must miss your next turn and discard the Object.

 

Thanks,

Ben



#2 Artaterxes

Artaterxes

    Member

  • Members
  • 245 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 01:13 PM

Deleted since I was wrong. :P


Edited by Artaterxes, 12 May 2014 - 02:57 PM.


#3 talismanamsilat

talismanamsilat

    Talisman Veteran

  • Members
  • 1,302 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 02:19 PM

I totally disagree Afteraxes.

 

The Cat Burglar burgles from the Black Market instead of buying an Object from the Black Market as usual, which of course can result in a character being sent to Jail. If the Cat Burglar chooses to burgle an Object from the Black Market, she ignores the text on the Black Market card and instead follows the instructions on her special ability. If she succeeds in the die roll, she takes the Object for free and her turn ends. If she fails the roll, she must miss her next turn and discard the Object!


Edited by talismanamsilat, 12 May 2014 - 02:22 PM.


#4 JediKnightAmoeba

JediKnightAmoeba

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 02:31 PM

I totally disagree Afteraxes.

 

The Cat Burglar burgles from the Black Market instead of buying an Object from the Black Market as usual, which of course can result in a character being sent to Jail. If the Cat Burglar chooses to burgle an Object from the Black Market, she ignores the text on the Black Market card and instead follows the instructions on her special ability. If she succeeds in the die roll, she takes the Object for free and her turn ends. If she fails the roll, she must miss her next turn and discard the Object!

+1



#5 Artaterxes

Artaterxes

    Member

  • Members
  • 245 posts

Posted 12 May 2014 - 02:55 PM

Actually you're right, it says "you may burgle instead," so the card text is ignored. Sorry!


Edited by Artaterxes, 12 May 2014 - 02:57 PM.


#6 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,290 posts

Posted 13 May 2014 - 12:37 AM

Does Black Market count as "buying" for CB's ability? On the first glance (of the quoted texts), I get the feeling it's not the same as buying and the card would not allow CB to burgle. Point being that while on the surface Black Market functions like buying (give gold, take X), it doesn't use the word buy, whereas CB's ability does use the word buy.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#7 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,644 posts

Posted 13 May 2014 - 01:25 AM

Does Black Market count as "buying" for CB's ability? On the first glance (of the quoted texts), I get the feeling it's not the same as buying and the card would not allow CB to burgle. Point being that while on the surface Black Market functions like buying (give gold, take X), it doesn't use the word buy, whereas CB's ability does use the word buy.

I definitely agree with you Dam. If you check the wording on cards the Cat Burglar says:

 

Whenever you visit a card or space that allows you to buy an Object, you may burgle instead

 

While the Black Market says:

 

You may pay 1 gold to take 1 card from any shop deck, then roll 1 die

 

The application of the Cat Burglar's ability to the Black Market is controversial too. You would need to consider the 1G you pay as the Object's cost, but again this is reading the card far behind its words.

 

If that could be possible, then she could burgle the Den of Thieves, which has the same wording (pay 1 gold to take 1 Object from another character). When the Cat Burglar exchanges Broken Armour/Broken Sword at the Armoury, she would be able to burgle as well, with increased chances considering the reduced price (If you visit the Armoury, you may pay X gold and discard this card to take a XXX from the Armoury deck.). This is nonsense we don't need, as the Cat Burglar has many good options to burgle in the City.


Edited by The_Warlock, 13 May 2014 - 01:35 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS