Jump to content



Photo

Card Types Clarifications


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Kev Targaryen

Kev Targaryen

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 08:50 PM

Can a card have 2 different types at the same time? i.e. Be a Character and a location or a Location and an attachment.

 

If not, how does the outfitted for war and longship maidens bane work out when it becomes a character?

 

Also, if I have Milk of the Poppy on a character and that character is killed. Is the card still blank in the moribund state?

 

Thanks.



#2 Slothgodfather

Slothgodfather

    Member

  • Members
  • 365 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 09:38 PM

Check out the FAQ Entry 3.25 found on page 11 of the FAQ.
 
(3.25) Card Type Changes to Character 
Any time a non-character card type becomes or counts as a character, it loses all other card types it might possess while it is a character. If for any reason, a non-character card that is functioning as a character is killed, said card is placed in the discard pile instead. Effects that trigger from said card being killed may still apply. 
 
Similarly, if a non-character card type becomes a character and claims power, that power counts towards your victory total. If at any time said card is no longer a character, the power that it has claimed thus far is not discarded, but it no longer counts 
towards your victory total. If said card once again becomes a character, any power it has claimed will again count towards its controller's victory total.
 
 
So a card is only one type of card, that is whatever type it currently is, basically.  
 
As for Milk of the Poppy, the attachment doesn't leave the character until Step 6, the same time the character itself leaves play, so yes - Milk still blanks a character - even if they are moribund.


#3 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,569 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 10:13 PM

Short-hand version:

 

--> Cards can only have one type. That type is whatever it is currently functioning as. So if a location becomes a character, it is only a character. If a character becomes and attachment, it is only an attachment. Etc.

 

--> Attachment restrictions must always be met, or else be discarded. So in the case of Outfitted for War (which says to attach to a location) on LMB, when LMB becomes a character, it stops being a location. That means the restriction on OfW is no longer valid and so the attachment is discarded.

 

--> Killing the character makes you discard all attachments on it when the character becomes moribund. However, all of those attachments become moribund, too, so they stick around on the character, continuing to function, until all moribund cards leave play at the same time. (So Milk of the Poppy - though moribund itself - continues to blank the moribund card it is attached to until they both leave play together.)



#4 Kev Targaryen

Kev Targaryen

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 10:20 PM

Thank you very much for the info.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS