Jump to content



Photo

sweep/blast target first?


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 maldion

maldion

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 09:39 AM

can the overlord pick his target first whit sweep/blast?

for example, the reanimate and the necromancer is hit both from same attack, can the overlord chose who gets target first or does it come same time or heroes choose?

 



#2 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 09:58 AM

You declare your initial target, and measure line of sight and range to that target. The rest of it kicks in after.



#3 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:09 AM

Whitewing, are you certain this isn't an example of golden rule timing? Blast occurs during the spend surges phase, doesn't it?



#4 Whitewing

Whitewing

    Member

  • Members
  • 524 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:39 AM

What I meant was that let's say you have an attack which has Surge: Blast. You choose your target for the attack, then make it into a blast when you spend the surge. 

 

You always have to choose your initial target.

 

If you mean you target person A, and person B and C get hit by the blast, then whoever has priority determines the order in which the damage to person B and C is resolved.



#5 maldion

maldion

    Member

  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 11:50 AM

u target whit sweep aswell?



#6 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:01 PM

whoever has priority determines the order in which the damage to person B and C is resolved.

As a clarification, he means whoever's turn it is.



#7 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:33 PM

 

whoever has priority determines the order in which the damage to person B and C is resolved.

As a clarification, he means whoever's turn it is.

 

Understood- I wonder though, if this includes just figures B and C, or target figure A as well.

 

Let's say that an attack is targeting the beastmaster (who is adjacent to his familiar,) and a surge is spent on blast. Can the attack be resolved such that the familiar is destroyed first, and then the beastmaster doesn't get to roll the extra brown die for being adjacent to his wolf? On the other hand, does that not apply since the dice are rolled before spending surges? In the latter case, that might change if the attack was an automatic blast.



#8 Inspector Jee

Inspector Jee

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 12:40 PM

I think sweep is untargetted by definition.  Crap, now I have to look it up.



#9 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 02:31 PM

I think sweep is untargetted by definition.  Crap, now I have to look it up.

It is- it affects each figure in range.



#10 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,679 posts

Posted 07 May 2014 - 07:36 PM

can the overlord pick his target first whit sweep/blast?

for example, the reanimate and the necromancer is hit both from same attack, can the overlord chose who gets target first or does it come same time or heroes choose?


There are two subtle, but important rules to keep in mind here.

#1) Attacks do not target figures, they target spaces. By RAW, a monster's attack must target a space that contains a hero figure, but it's the space that is the target. The rules sometimes refer to "target figure" as a shorthand for "figure occupying the target space."

#2) Attacks generally only target one space. There are a few exceptions, but not many. Additional spaces - and the figures within - may be affected, but they are not targeted. This is the case both for Blast and Sweep. Blast targets one space and affects all surrounding spaces; Sweep affects everything around the attacking figure.

 

The target is always affected, but affected figures are not always targets.

When an attack that affects multiple figures is being resolved, damage is dealt to all affected figures at once. There is no timing to resolve, it's one thing that happens to several figures. Attack dice are only rolled once and the final result is applied to all affected figures. In practice you may roll the defense dice for each figure one at a time because you don't have enough to roll for all figures at once, but technically all affected figures are defending simultaneously.
 


  • griton and Zaltyre like this

#11 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 781 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 08:59 AM

Good point, Steve-O. It sounds like since the damage is being dealt simultaneously, even if it was resolved against different spaces is an order of the current player's choosing, it wouldn't affect the defense pool of any of the affected figures, since they all rolled at the same time. Good to know.


Edited by Zaltyre, 08 May 2014 - 09:00 AM.





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS