Jump to content



Photo

Question Regarding Bidding on Influence Tracks and Resolving Ties


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Jedski

Jedski

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 04:03 PM

When bidding for influence tracks occurs during a game, what are the rules regarding ties between those players with no available power, or who choose to bid no power at all?

 

Here's a scenario that's come up multiple times.

 

Bidding occurs:

 

Baratheon wins and keeps Iron Throne.

In bidding for the Fiefdoms track, nobody is able to bid any power. Does Baratheon theoretically have to resolve a "tie" between zero?

So on and so forth for the King's Court Track, thereby giving Baratheon the Iron Throne, the Valyrian Steel Blade, and the Raven.

 

Does Baratheon choose to re-arrange the tie between all the houses as he sees fit?

 

We've been playing like that for a while, until some voices complained about how it seemed unfair, and how easy it was for someone to really dominate by taking all three tracks.

 

We changed it so that if you were unable to bid any power, the ties between zeros would not need to resolved.

 

So in the above example, none of the influence tracks would have changed since there was technically no "power" being thrown around.

 

Your thoughts on this are greatly appreciated.



#2 mungkei

mungkei

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 04:28 PM

The player holding [The Iron Throne] token decides the outcome of all ties that occur in the game, with the exception of ties in combat (which are resolved by a player’s position on the Fiefdoms track) and ties in determining the winner of the game.

 

From page 11 of the rulebook.

 

If you view this as unfair, then make sure to always have power available.  The only time that I do not play at least one consolidate power token is when the westeros card indicates you cannot.


  • kauai1964 likes this

#3 dancemachine

dancemachine

    Member

  • Members
  • 23 posts

Posted 06 May 2014 - 01:17 AM

We had a situation once, we the last Clash of Kings Westeros card was resolved after only 3rd turn. Since we had a wildlings attack before, there was just one player left with 1 Power Token, all the other players had 0.

So he bid 1 on the Throne, won it and all the other tokens and held them till the end of the game.

We learn. Just have some PT ready everyday :-)
This is fair to me.



#4 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 11 May 2014 - 08:55 AM

The holder of the IT decides all ties, including multiple ties, and when 6 players all bid "0" they are all "tied."  If no one has any PT's left after the bid for the Iron Throne influence track, then all bids are effectively "0."  The holder of the IT, in practice, could then certainly make themselves the holder of the Sword (Fiefdoms track) and the Raven (King's Court track).  This is perfectly legal for the holder of the IT to do so.


(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark


#5 godofcheese

godofcheese

    Member

  • Members
  • 321 posts

Posted 11 May 2014 - 09:13 PM

In your example above, it's not unfair. It's just very poor strategy play from all the non-baratheon players.


  • kauai1964 likes this

#6 SFRR

SFRR

    Member

  • Members
  • 124 posts

Posted 14 May 2014 - 10:50 PM

In your example above, it's not unfair. It's just very poor strategy play from all the non-baratheon players.

This...."+1"


(SFRR) aka Siferr Stark


#7 LOLcheapgold

LOLcheapgold

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 15 May 2014 - 02:34 AM

What you said is right, we are the same.





______________________
More Exciting Content Fifa coins Waiting For You.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS