Jump to content



Photo

Resolving icons after objective is destroyed...


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 garygoodjob

garygoodjob

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 05:34 PM

If you have more than one unit engaged to an objective and one unit kills it, it's immediately taken out right? So then would the attackers other units in the engagement not be able to resolve their icons because there's no objective anymore?

#2 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,077 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 06:33 PM

Their icons may not do anything, although tactics would still work fine, but every unit involved must still be exhausted to strike anyway. Any blast damage would go nowhere.

#3 garygoodjob

garygoodjob

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 06:46 PM

So what about even unit damage against defenders? Can you still resolve them even tho you just destroyed the objective?

#4 PBrennan

PBrennan

    Member

  • Members
  • 199 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 07:04 PM

Yes. Every unit must strike, every icon resolves, regardless of whether the objective is destroyed or not. After the objective is destroyed, even blast damage icons still resolve ... it's just that their resolution no longer applies damage because the objective's no longer there.


Edited by PBrennan, 04 May 2014 - 07:05 PM.


#5 garygoodjob

garygoodjob

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 07:22 PM

If a card says after an objective is destroyed can that be after the engagement as a whole or must it be immediately after the objective leaves play?

#6 ScottieATF

ScottieATF

    Member

  • Members
  • 670 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:05 PM

If a card says after an objective is destroyed can that be after the engagement as a whole or must it be immediately after the objective leaves play?

 

Immediately



#7 divinityofnumber

divinityofnumber

    Member

  • Members
  • 602 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 09:11 PM

Every engaged unit must strike. No unit can leave the engagement without completing its strike(s), given that it is not already focused and therefore unable to strike. 


Edited by divinityofnumber, 05 May 2014 - 07:03 AM.

Star Wars LCG: FFG EC Regional 2014 - Top 4; Star Wars LCG: FFG Event Center Store Championship 2014 - Top 4; FFG Event Center Season One 2014 - Minneapolis Regional Game Night - Top 4; May the 4th Be With You 2013 - Second Chance Tournament Champion; A Game of Thrones LCG: Days of Ice and Fire 2013 - Joust Top 16

abUse the Force author on CardGameDB.com


#8 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,316 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 05:19 AM

Every engaged unit must strike. No unit can leave the engagement without completing its strike(s). 

Not quite true.  Every engaged unit must have at least one focus token on it before you can leave the resolves strike step of the engagement.  Whether it gets the focus token(s) from striking or some other effect (often opponent's Tactics icons) does not matter.  You loop through the resolve strikes flowchart until all engaged units are exhausted.



#9 divinityofnumber

divinityofnumber

    Member

  • Members
  • 602 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 07:04 AM

 

Every engaged unit must strike. No unit can leave the engagement without completing its strike(s). 

Not quite true.  Every engaged unit must have at least one focus token on it before you can leave the resolves strike step of the engagement.  Whether it gets the focus token(s) from striking or some other effect (often opponent's Tactics icons) does not matter.  You loop through the resolve strikes flowchart until all engaged units are exhausted.

 

Of course. I edited my above post. 

 

Sometimes I see the question asked by new players as to whether you can choose not to strike, etc. Given that a unit is not already focused, it has to strike before it can leave the engagement. 


Star Wars LCG: FFG EC Regional 2014 - Top 4; Star Wars LCG: FFG Event Center Store Championship 2014 - Top 4; FFG Event Center Season One 2014 - Minneapolis Regional Game Night - Top 4; May the 4th Be With You 2013 - Second Chance Tournament Champion; A Game of Thrones LCG: Days of Ice and Fire 2013 - Joust Top 16

abUse the Force author on CardGameDB.com


#10 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,316 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 07:07 AM

Understood.  I just wanted to bring it up because I've also seen the misunderstanding that every unit must strike even if it is already focused. :-)



#11 zombieearl

zombieearl

    Member

  • Members
  • 22 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 02:30 PM

This means that Red 2 focus to strike, and destroys the objective, it must focus to strike again, right?

#12 Toggle

Toggle

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 02:32 PM

Yes.

 

One trick for Red Two is planning for an unopposed bonus to finish off the objective, because that happens after all strikes so Red Two is ready after the engagement.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS