Jump to content


Shifty Lookout + Against all Odds order

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 sageleader



  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 04:23 PM

This came up in a game for me today and we disagreed about how it was resolved.

I was attacking with only Shifty Lookout and had Against All Odds in play. He had no defenders because they were all focused. We each had two cards in our hand.

Against All Odds text: "Each unit you control gains [Blast Damage] while attacking an opponent who has more cards in hand than you."
Shift Lookout text: "While this unit is ready, each opponent is considered to have 1 additional card in his hand."

So how many blast damage do I get? 1 for unopposed bonus, but do I get the extra for the Against All Odds bonus?

His argument was that I don't get the extra blast because Lookout isn't ready when he attacks, thus we each have 2 cards in hand. He is focused and then the icons are resolved. My argument is that the objective text says I get the extra blast damage "while attacking". It doesn't say "if he still has more cards in his hand when you resolve strikes." So I think the objective give me the blast when the unit is ready

So who is right?

#2 MasterJediAdam



  • Members
  • 697 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 06:31 PM

So as soon as the unit focused to strike, it would no longer get the bonus because it is no longer "ready".

Welcome to the machine!

#3 dbmeboy



  • Members
  • 2,508 posts

Posted 04 May 2014 - 06:16 AM

The key to this lies in the steps involved in resolving a strike, in order:


1. Choose a unit to strike

2. Focus the unit to strike

3. Resolve combat icons


As step 2 is where the Shifty Lookout's ability will be turned off, you'll not have that extra card in your opponent's hand come step 3 when you're calculating blast damage.

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS