Jump to content



Photo

Transition from Interlude to Act 2


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 03:18 PM

After completing the Interlude and changing out act 1 mobs and shop cards for act 2 and giving the heroes the chance to buy any shop 1 cards remaining.... Is there then a full campaign phase before starting the first act 2 quest?
Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#2 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 485 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 03:25 PM

In terms of more shopping, no. The heroes do not visit the Act 2 shop until after the first Act 2 quest. However, they do get to spend experience, etc, and you travel to the next quest as normal.



#3 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 02 May 2014 - 11:23 PM

Ah OK. Does that mean that the shop step of a campaign phase following an Interlude quest is when the heroes get to look/buy any remaining act 1 shop cards?
Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#4 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,630 posts

Posted 03 May 2014 - 05:35 AM

Yes, that's correct.

#5 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 08:58 AM

Ah OK. Does that mean that the shop step of a campaign phase following an Interlude quest is when the heroes get to look/buy any remaining act 1 shop cards?


I don't think so. It is more like a separate step which would be important for the rumor card that deals all shop cards face down IN THE SHOPPING STEP of campaign phase.

I'm still waiting for ffgs reply to this one as I ask about it via rules questions link.

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#6 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 09:38 AM

Ah OK. Does that mean that the shop step of a campaign phase following an Interlude quest is when the heroes get to look/buy any remaining act 1 shop cards?


I don't think so. It is more like a separate step which would be important for the rumor card that deals all shop cards face down IN THE SHOPPING STEP of campaign phase.
I'm still waiting for ffgs reply to this one as I ask about it via rules questions link.

This is exactly what I was thinking about. Anyway if the purchase any remaining shop 1 cards happens outside of the campaign phase following an Interlude quest.... What exactly do you play in the shopping step? Act 2 shop cards? Before any act 2 quest? That seems wrong to me.

This really needs official clarification as it's not covered in the rules or FAQ.
Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#7 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 09:45 AM

I guess you might deal them usual shop cards as it is technically still act one. But that is apparently redundant .

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#8 Wells

Wells

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 10:00 AM

It's simple:

 

in the shop phase after interlude, you not draw X cards (X = number of heroes + 1) but you give ALL cards to choose.

 

this rules is stupid but....


French player

 

http://descentv2.fr.cr


#9 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 10:08 AM

Sorry but no! This happens even before the campaign phase. The question was what happens in the shopping step if shopping took place before.

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#10 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 485 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 10:53 AM

This is exactly what I was thinking about. Anyway if the purchase any remaining shop 1 cards happens outside of the campaign phase following an Interlude quest.... What exactly do you play in the shopping step? Act 2 shop cards? Before any act 2 quest? That seems wrong to me.

This really needs official clarification as it's not covered in the rules or FAQ.

 

http://boardgamegeek...sition-shopping

 

This does have an official response. Between the interlude and the first Act 2 quest, the heroes have access to the entire act 1 shop. They do not visit the act 2 shop until AFTER the first act 2 quest. The shopping step after the interlude is different from all the others, in that they get to see all cards, not number of heroes +1.

 

The reason the "Transition to Act 2" happens when it does is (I would assume) to account for the situation where a hero draws a search card while travelling to or during the first Act 2 quest, and that happens to be a treasure chest- in that case, they would get a random Act 2 shop card. 


Edited by Zaltyre, 05 May 2014 - 10:58 AM.


#11 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 11:06 AM

This is exactly what I was thinking about. Anyway if the purchase any remaining shop 1 cards happens outside of the campaign phase following an Interlude quest.... What exactly do you play in the shopping step? Act 2 shop cards? Before any act 2 quest? That seems wrong to me.
This really needs official clarification as it's not covered in the rules or FAQ.

http://boardgamegeek...sition-shopping
 
This does have an official response. Between the interlude and the first Act 2 quest, the heroes have access to the entire act 1 shop. They do not visit the act 2 shop until AFTER the first act 2 quest.

Is this really official? Looking at the rule book page 22 in section called act 2.... Heroes have a chance to visit the shop and purchase any remaining act 1 cards IMMEDIATELY after finishing the Interlude.

So... Follow the above with a campaign step and in the shopping phase of campaign step heroes get to shop act 2 cards as per the rules page 21 first paragraph... "act 1 cards are used until players have completed the INTERLUDE at which point players switch to Act 2".

So in summary

1.) heroes get a special shop phase immediately after the Interlude to purchase have remaining act 1 cards.

2.)Then in the shop step of the campaign phase they get to shop act 2 cards for the first time. This is before any act 2 quest are played.
Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#12 Electris

Electris

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 11:58 AM

Here is exactly what's listed in the rulebook. I bolded what I consider to be the key statement regarding your question. Notice it does not say Act 2 items are available for purchase in this step. Once the shopping step is completed all unpurchased act I cards go back to the box and only Act 2 quests may be purchased from now on. Since this shopping step is completed that means after the first act 2 quest.

------------------
Act II

After completing the Interlude, the campaign transitions to Act II. From
now on, players choose quests from among the Act II options and prepare
themselves for the Finale.
Immediately after completing the Interlude, follow these steps:

1. Return the Act I Monster and Lieutenant cards to the box and
retrieve the Act II Monster and Lieutenant cards. From now on, all
monsters and lieutenants use their Act II characteristics.

2. Hero players now have a chance to visit the shop and purchase any
Act I Shop Item cards.
Deal out all remaining Act I Shop Item cards
faceup. The hero players may purchase any number of Act I Shop
Item cards they are able to afford.

3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards to the game box and
retrieve the Act II Shop Item cards. From now on, use the Act II Shop
Item cards. Act I Shop Item cards currently in possession of the heroes
are unaffected. Any Act I Shop Item card sold by the heroes during
Act II is returned to the box.

After completing three Act II quests, it is time for the Finale. Players
resolve one Campaign phase as normal and then the heroes travel to the
Finale quest to determine the ultimate winner of the campaign!



#13 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 12:46 PM

Here is exactly what's listed in the rulebook. I bolded what I consider to be the key statement regarding your question. Notice it does not say Act 2 items are available for purchase in this step. Once the shopping step is completed all unpurchased act I cards go back to the box and only Act 2 quests may be purchased from now on. Since this shopping step is completed that means after the first act 2 quest.
------------------
Act II

After completing the Interlude, the campaign transitions to Act II. From
now on, players choose quests from among the Act II options and prepare
themselves for the Finale.
Immediately after completing the Interlude, follow these steps:

1. Return the Act I Monster and Lieutenant cards to the box and
retrieve the Act II Monster and Lieutenant cards. From now on, all
monsters and lieutenants use their Act II characteristics.

2. Hero players now have a chance to visit the shop and purchase any
Act I Shop Item cards.
Deal out all remaining Act I Shop Item cards
faceup. The hero players may purchase any number of Act I Shop
Item cards they are able to afford.

3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards to the game box and
retrieve the Act II Shop Item cards. From now on, use the Act II Shop
Item cards. Act I Shop Item cards currently in possession of the heroes
are unaffected. Any Act I Shop Item card sold by the heroes during
Act II is returned to the box.

After completing three Act II quests, it is time for the Finale. Players
resolve one Campaign phase as normal and then the heroes travel to the
Finale quest to determine the ultimate winner of the campaign!


This does not answer my question. There must be a campaign phase after the players have done the steps you outline above BEFORE they start the first act 2 quest. In that campaign phase there will be a shopping step. Page 21 of the rule book says and I quote "Act 1 cards are played until the players have completed the Interlude at which point players switch to Act 2" So players can put have act 2 cards in the shop step of the campaign phase after the Interlude.

Basically..

1.) Finish Interlude quest.
2.) Heroes get a chance to buy any remaining act 1 shop cards
3.) Campaign phase including a shop step where they can buy act 2 shop cards.

Then play first act 2 quest.

Is there an official response anywhere to the contrary to what I state above?
Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#14 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 485 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 12:51 PM

 

Basically..

1.) Finish Interlude quest.
2.) Heroes get a chance to buy any remaining act 1 shop cards
3.) Campaign phase including a shop step where they can buy act 2 shop cards.

Then play first act 2 quest.

Is there an official response anywhere to the contrary to what I state above?

 

No- not even a little. Did you click the link I put in my last post? Second post from the top. The response from FFG reads "Heroes cannot purchase Act II Shop Items until after the first Act II quest has been played."

 

Unless you want to contest whether that response is a forgery, your sequence is incorrect. There is no shopping step containing act 2 items before the first Act 2 quest.

 

The "at which point players switch to act 2" refers to the stuff in the paragraph outlined above, which does not contain a shopping step with Act 2 items.


Edited by Zaltyre, 05 May 2014 - 12:54 PM.

  • Ser Folly and SolennelBern like this

#15 Electris

Electris

    Member

  • Members
  • 37 posts

Posted 05 May 2014 - 06:09 PM

Here is exactly what's listed in the rulebook. I bolded what I consider to be the key statement regarding your question. Notice it does not say Act 2 items are available for purchase in this step. Once the shopping step is completed all unpurchased act I cards go back to the box and only Act 2 quests may be purchased from now on. Since this shopping step is completed that means after the first act 2 quest.
------------------
Act II
After completing the Interlude, the campaign transitions to Act II. From
now on, players choose quests from among the Act II options and prepare
themselves for the Finale.
Immediately after completing the Interlude, follow these steps:
1. Return the Act I Monster and Lieutenant cards to the box and
retrieve the Act II Monster and Lieutenant cards. From now on, all
monsters and lieutenants use their Act II characteristics.
2. Hero players now have a chance to visit the shop and purchase any
Act I Shop Item cards.
Deal out all remaining Act I Shop Item cards
faceup. The hero players may purchase any number of Act I Shop
Item cards they are able to afford.
3. Return all unpurchased Act I Shop Item cards to the game box and
retrieve the Act II Shop Item cards. From now on, use the Act II Shop
Item cards. Act I Shop Item cards currently in possession of the heroes
are unaffected. Any Act I Shop Item card sold by the heroes during
Act II is returned to the box.
After completing three Act II quests, it is time for the Finale. Players
resolve one Campaign phase as normal and then the heroes travel to the
Finale quest to determine the ultimate winner of the campaign!


This does not answer my question. There must be a campaign phase after the players have done the steps you outline above BEFORE they start the first act 2 quest. In that campaign phase there will be a shopping step. Page 21 of the rule book says and I quote "Act 1 cards are played until the players have completed the Interlude at which point players switch to Act 2" So players can put have act 2 cards in the shop step of the campaign phase after the Interlude.
Basically..
1.) Finish Interlude quest.
2.) Heroes get a chance to buy any remaining act 1 shop cards
3.) Campaign phase including a shop step where they can buy act 2 shop cards.
Then play first act 2 quest.
Is there an official response anywhere to the contrary to what I state above?

I'm sorry if the rules don't help you. You aren't following a regular campaign phase right after the interlude, hence the instructions I had posted above. Otherwise FFG would simply say "follow the campaign phase but offer all tier 1 in addition to the tier 2 drawn" or "shop twice."

#16 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 06 May 2014 - 02:30 AM

OK I have found an FFG response over on BGG. They admit that the transition step has been incorrectly written. Heroes do get a chance to cash in their search cards etc from the Interlude quest before doing the special shop step for Act 1 cards. Act 2 cards cannot be purchased. It still leaves that rumour card open to Interpretation as to whether this is a shop step that the card can be resolved in.
I will post the thread with the FFG response shortly.

Edited by Bagpus, 06 May 2014 - 05:08 AM.

Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#17 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 08:59 AM

OK I have found an FFG response over on BGG. They admit that the transition step has been incorrectly written. Heroes do get a chance to cash in their search cards etc from the Interlude quest before doing the special shop step for Act 1 cards. Act 2 cards cannot be purchased. It still leaves that rumour card open to Interpretation as to whether this is a shop step that the card can be resolved in.
I will post the thread with the FFG response shortly.

 

Just got the official answer from FFG (copied below):

 

me:

"I have a question concerning the rumor card 'Unknown Treasures'. Am I allowed to play this card in the shopping phase directly after the interlude quest of a campaign? The rules as written seem to say, yes, but it seems very powerful in that instance."

 

Nathan Hajek (FFG):

Unknown Treasures cannot be used when purchasing from all Act I shop cards after the interlude. It is not an actual shopping step and so it does not apply.

  • SolennelBern likes this

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#18 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 496 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 11:25 AM

Some good followup questions would probably be:

 

Is the regular shopping phase skipped / is this in its place, or does it occur during a different part of the campaign phase? Are heroes allowed to sell back item cards during it?

 

Basically, if it's not a regular shopping phase, what other differences might there be? Will future cards possibly affect it?



#19 Bagpus

Bagpus

    Member

  • Members
  • 31 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 11:49 AM

Some good followup questions would probably be:

Is the regular shopping phase skipped / is this in its place, or does it occur during a different part of the campaign phase? Are heroes allowed to sell back item cards during it?

Basically, if it's not a regular shopping phase, what other differences might there be? Will future cards possibly affect it?

Agreed. The whole process between end of Interlude quest and start of first act 2 quest is very poorly defined. I would like to see a definitive sequence of events detailing the order of things that happen including the 3 items defined in the rulebook as happening immediately post Interlude quest AND the contents of the associated campaign phase post Interlude quest. As an example what do you do in "the Real shopping step" in the campaign phase post Interlude quest.

Edited by Bagpus, 08 May 2014 - 11:53 AM.

Bagpus

Twilight Imperium. Descent 2E. Runewars. Civilization.

#20 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 238 posts

Posted 08 May 2014 - 11:58 AM

Summing up official ruling and in-thread discussion I suggest the following run down.

 

Interlude is lost or won->

- heroes can sell starting items and sell/buy any Act I items (kind of different interlude 'sale, sale, sale' not-really-shopping-phase apart from campaign phase).

- campaign phase kicks in and you can have another shopping phase (if you like) but as Act II items are off limits you would deal act I items... 

 

Pretty straightforward but unfortunately not descently (nice pun, isn't it?) explained in the Rules.


Edited by Ser Folly, 08 May 2014 - 12:00 PM.

Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Rune Age - Letters from Whitechapel - Cadwallon - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS