Cards That Go In Every Deck?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 otomo

otomo

• Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 01:31 AM

Now the one issue about not being able to buy singles in a game like this seems to be the above. I just started playing about a week ago and have been researching decks. I want to have a deck for each faction, or at least 2 decks for each runner and corp going so I can be varied in play style. However there's already a number of cards that seem like they almost "have" to go in a deck to keep it competitive.  

Corp:

Jackson Howard -- this is the only card I've seen that consistently makes most player's lists, and for good reason. So at least corp's cardpool is pretty balanced.

Runner:

Kati Jones

Plascrete Carapace

Dirty Laundry

R&D Interface

A little less so but still  there:

Desperado

Corroder

Sure Gamble

Datasucker

there may be some more i've missed but to have a few decks, it makes it really challenging to build multiple decks at a competitive level, especially on the runner side.  Any thoughts about what to do about this?

#2 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

• Members
  • 522 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 03:04 AM

It's hard, no doubt, to make several decks at once for this reason. A second Core set will certainly help in having multiples of staples like Sure Gamble/Hedge Fund.

One common solution is to have scraps of paper with card names in sleeves, and swap them between decks when necessary.

Remember though, that no card is ever 'auto-include' - every single card decision you make should be justified.

#3 sydan

sydan

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 05:47 AM

I think on the corp side it's definitely:

Hedge Fund

Jackson Howard

PAD Campaign (maybe)

On the runner side:

Sure Gamble

Corroder

Magnum Opus (maybe)

#4 CommissarFeesh

CommissarFeesh

• Members
  • 522 posts

Posted 01 May 2014 - 06:49 AM

I think on the corp side it's definitely:
Hedge Fund
Jackson Howard